Thursday, April 30, 2015

The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie

Synopsis

Based on the wildly popular YouTube channel, The Haunting of Sunshine Girl has been described as “ Gilmore Girls meets Paranormal Activity for the new media age.” YA fans new and old will learn the secrets behind Sunshine—the adorkable girl living in a haunted house—a story that is much bigger, and runs much deeper, than even the most devoted viewer can imagine…


My Thoughts
★★★★★ Creeptastic Stars.
I received this book from NG in return for an honest review.
I wouldn't read this in the dark... 
Really though, I wouldn't. I ended up freaking myself out reading it in the middle of the night. Lol
This book was really gripping. It's the kind of book you can finish in one sitting. (If you aren't mega busy with people buggin you ever couple of seconds). It didn't take long for me to fall in love with this book. I really thought I had it all figured our about 20 pages in or so... I was wrong. So wrong. Sunshine took all this better than I would have. I would have probably just curled into a ball and cried my eyes out. Lol. Nolan.. Oh my gosh. So adorkable! Sunshine and him are so cute together! I don't see how Sunshine was ever friends with Ashley.. She was so stuck on herself. Or should I say "stuck on Chris"? *dramatic eye roll*
I really adored this book. it was creeptastic ! Haha.

Wednesday, April 22, 2015

The Legend of the Light Keeper by Kelly Hall

Synopsis

After a hurricane destroys her home, Lily Jordan is ready for life to get back to normal. That would be easy if her mother’s recent engagement hadn’t landed her in a house along Southeast Texas’ most haunted ghost road. The secluded scenic road is steeped in rich history and legends, but when Lily is given an old diary on her birthday, will she find that those legends hold more for her future than she’s bargained for?
With the help of new friends, Hunter and Owen, and forbidden love, Talon, will she uncover dark secrets from the past and find the key to her own gifts? Is it fate or circumstance that brought Lily to her new home? Normal gives way to the paranormal in book one of the Light Keeper series where mystery and suspense keeps you guessing until the very last page. 


My Thoughts
★★★★★++ Lightening Stars.
I received this book from NG in return for an honest review.
Ohhh my gosh! This was so freaking AMAZING! I just.. oh my gosh
I just want to say, the writing is brilliant! I loved this story so much. The only thing that kinda weirded me out was the whole stepbrother/sister/cousin crush thing going on.
It was already kinda "whaaat in the hellll?" when she came out liking Talon.
But the whole cousin thing just pushed it to the mega ewww zone.
You would honestly think it would be a breaking point and make you want to stop reading, but yet it somehow keeps you sucked in. Which you are pretty thankful for because everything seems to work out. By the end of the book I was ready for her and Talon to get together (which of course means I don't want their parents together). I can't stand their parents actually. What kind of parents just leave their kids alone all the time? Kinda gross when they are home they are to busy with their own "marriage" planning and doing the bump and grind. Seriously? I know you are still young, buuut, you DO have kids! I really can't wait for book two to be released. I'll devour it as fast as I did with this book.
If you read this book, I'd say clear your schedule. ^_^

Saturday, April 18, 2015

Into the Fae (Gypsy Healers #1) by Quinn Loftis

Synopsis

With peace finally descending on the Romanian Grey Wolves, longtime fae ambassador to the wolves, Perizada, has been given a new mission by the Great Luna. But Peri’s desire for revenge against her sister, Lorelle, burns in her heart. Further complicating matters, the great white wolf, Lucian Lupei, has been returned to the pack after centuries trapped in the Dark Forest, and it appears he is destined to be with Peri. Can she put aside her thoughts of vengeance long enough to accept Lucian’s love and complete her mission?


My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Gypsy Fae Healing Stars.
For anyone who is a huge fan of The Grey Wolves series, I'm pretty sure they were on the same boat as me... Hoping to see our favorite girls from the main books of The Grey Wolves series. 
It takes talent to have your characters that started it all so close yet out of reach and your still able to keep readers interested in your new characters. 
I'm so glad we got to see more of Sally and Peri in this book. I loved this whole spin off idea. You get to see sides you wouldn't normally see and so many questions get answered while filling in blanks from other books. 
I'll admit, it was tough seeing Peri act the way she did. She came off as stuck up at first and it made me very annoyed with her, but of course, once I kept reading on I started loving her again. 
This book had me cracking up laughing my butt off so many times! 
I would fully recommend this book. Quinn Loftis books never fails to put a smile on my face and keep me laughing.. Even if there are some losses. Lol
But really, you should read this!

Sunday, April 12, 2015

Insurgent (Divergent #2) by Veronica Roth

Synopsis

One choice can transform you-- or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves--and herself--while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.
Tris's initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable--and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.


My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Mind Numbing Stars.
I can't even right now. Oh my gosh. This was so awesome! Good gah at the suspense! It's like I was on a roller coaster and it was just building, going up, up, up. I thought I was going to explode and/or have a heart attack! It's kinda funny because I was just going on and on reading and thinking "I can't take much more! I can't take it!"
What'd I do? ... Kept reading! Haha!
I have so many mixed emotions though because this showed a whole new side of Tris, and honestly, I didn't like it. It made me so angry at her. I mean, helllooooo you have this great guy who really cares for you. Why keep things secret? She was just keeping everything from him and I really didn't understand why. Was it because of where she came from or what? Scared he wouldn't love her the same? I have no idea. I think if it was in front of my face (which I'm sure it was) I still wouldn't get it. Oh well. Amazing awesome hella epic book anyway!
There were so many things that happened that just sideswiped me. I'm still kinda reeling after this book. I think it'll take me a while to actually get over what just happened.
That ending though!
A cliffhanger! REALLY?! That is NOT fair!
I have GOT to get my hands on the next book before I go insane.

Friday, April 10, 2015

Gathering Frost (Once Upon A Curse #1) by Kaitlyn Davis

Synopsis

Will his kiss be enough to revive her frozen heart?
Once Upon A Time meets La Femme Nikita in GATHERING FROST, a dystopian romance from bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis that reimagines the classic fairy tale of Sleeping Beauty.
Jade was only a little girl when the earthquake struck. Before her eyes, half of New York City disappeared, replaced by a village that seemed torn out of a storybook. Horses and carriages. Cobblestone streets. A towering castle. And, above all, a queen with the magical ability to strip emotions away.
Ten years later and Jade has forgotten what it is to feel, to care...even to love. Working as a member of the queen's guard, she spends most of her time on the city wall staring at the crumbling skyscrapers of old New York. But everything changes when the queen's runaway son, Prince Asher, returns. Jade is tasked with an unusual mission--to let the Prince capture her, to make him trust her, and then to betray his secrets to the crown. In return, she'll earn her freedom. But life outside the queen's realm is more than Jade bargained for. Under Asher's relentless taunts, her blood begins to boil. Under his piercing gaze, her heart begins to flutter. And the more her icy soul begins to thaw, the more Jade comes to question everything she's ever known--and, more importantly, whose side she's really on.


My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Perfectly Frozen Stars.
I received this book from NG in return for an honest review.
I have to admit, starting off, I didn't like Jade very much. Sure, she was awesome with the "I don't take crap from anyone. Don't even think about crossing me." attitude... But I have seen a lot of these kind of characters lately. When I first started, I really just wanted to put it down and leave it with a DNF (Did not finish) But, I didn't! I'm so glad I didn't either!
Once you get past that and around the time he "kidnaps" her, it starts getting REALLY amazing and it will suck you in. I ended up finishing it all in one sitting. I literally could not put this book down. I had to know what happened next. Though, there were a few parts that left me going, "What the crap?" while having to flip back a few pages to make sure I didn't miss anything.. I didn't, but the feeling was still there.. not really sure about that, but yet it didn't discourage me. If anything, it left me wanting more. This had me all over the place emotion wise. Ugh, my heart felt like it was going to explode through the last few chapters. Once I got to the end, I thought I was gonna fall over dead or something. I didn't want it to end, there were things I wish had worked out, I also would have loved to know if people found who they had been looking for.
Gathering Frost was a interesting rare read. I can't wait to read book two!

Thursday, April 9, 2015

The Breadwinner Trilogy Launch Party!





The Breadwinner Trilogy Launch Party! *Hosted by Leslie Whitaker and Stevie Kopas* If you ain't joined up already for this, you should!
Link To The Launch Party!
invite your friends and spread the word around! Also,going to be awesome prizes so check it out!
Wanna know what those prizes are?! Well go to the link and see for yourself! ^_^
I'm gonna be there, so why not you?
Where does this take place? All in the comfort in your own home in front of your computer on facebook. Lol

All Good Things (The Breadwinner Trilogy Book 3) by Stevie Kopas

Synopsis

Locked up safely behind the walls of their glamorous beach resort, our survivors have grown comfortable, almost forgetting that the undead are still on the prowl in the streets below. But when the group loses one of their own under mysterious circumstances, they begin to question whether or not staying at the resort is their best option.Friends turn on one another and once again, the group finds themselves back on the apocalyptic streets of Haven, battling the dead. The biggest threat yet emerges and a traitor is revealed, proving once and for all that the flesh hungry creatures infesting the city are not the group’s greatest foe.Will our survivors be able to make it out alive one last time?The final book in The Breadwinner Trilogy is a non-stop, post-apocalyptic race to the finish line. Murder, lies, captivity, and a seemingly never ending onslaught of the dead are just some of the challenges our group will face.Fates hang in the balance but one thing is certain: the end of the world is not glamorous, and All Good Things must come to an end.


My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Mind Boggling Stars.
I received this book in return for an honest review.
BOOK THREE!!!!!!
Action packed and mind boggling
I swear, The Breadwinner Trilogy has got to be the hardest books for me to write a review for. Why? Because how do you put "full scale epicness" in words without saying the same thing over and over again? All Good Things...was a yo-yo for me. It kept my heart racing, but I went from "Yesss!!!" to a sobbing "Noooo!!!" I loved how this book went. It tied everything together and no matter how you felt about a character, there was always something they could do to change your mind and you end up liking them. (Except Michelle. She's a lost cause.)
This book = PERFECTION!
There are a lot of books that go back and forth between different points, and normally, they are extremely annoying to me. But there was just something about these book that made it seem perfect. I couldn't wait to read from the points, to see what each character was going through at a certain time. 
I fully recommend this whole series. It's AMAZING!
THESE BOOKS ARE EPIC!! Read them. Now!
...Why are you still reading this? You should be reading the books!

For the full review + gifs, go here: All Good Things by Stevie Kopas

Haven (The Breadwinner Trilogy Book 2) by Stevie Kopas

Synopsis

Having barely escaped the clutches of the undead, the survivors of The Breadwinner are headed into the unknown to continue their search for solace in the post-apocalyptic landscape. Once a paradise for the living, the city of Haven is now crawling with flesh hungry creatures–yet it could be their only hope. 
Veronica, Samson and the others take a chance on the promises of Gary, a solitary survivor. Is the light-hearted newcomer all that he seems or are there sinister motives hidden behind his hospitality? 
Can Michelle and Lulu, two ordinary women faced with extraordinary horrors and obstacles, make it to safety? Or will they each become just another undead face in the hordes roaming the streets of Haven? 
When tragedy strikes, worlds collide, and the survivors must band together against their common enemy. But remember, who you were does not determine what you will become in the face of a catastrophe. The dead may no longer be their greatest threat. 
Welcome home. Haven is hell. 


My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Devouring Stars.
I received this book in return for an honest review.
Ya know.. I thought book one review was hard to write.. I take that back now. THIS one is hard. I'm honestly trying to figure out a way to put how awesomely amazing this book is into words without giving spoilers!
I devoured the heck out of this book. Everything fell together perfectly. At first it kinda threw me off because it started off right where book one left off then it back tracked to the start, adding more characters. I couldn't help but to kinda go "Wait, what?"
BUT.. I kept reading and ended up going "oohhhh! That's why!" Which of course lead to "OMG! Tell me!" Because I HAD to know what happened next.
If you thought the first book kept your attention, this one will lock you in for sure... Hella amazing.

...That ending though... Omg...

"Lady, I aint shy. No offence, but you could probably take a lesson or two in modesty."

For the full review + gifs, go here: Haven by Stevie Kopas

Saturday, April 4, 2015

The Breadwinner (The Breadwinner Trilogy Book 1) by Stevie Kopas

Synopsis

The end of the world is not glamorous. In a matter of days the human race was reduced to nothing more than vicious, flesh hungry creatures. This three part story takes you into the world of the survivors, coming from different generations and different sides of the tracks, they all share one thing in common: who you once were can no longer determine who you will be in the face of catastrophe. 

Samson, a once wealthy and powerful criminal defense attorney struggles to keep his family safe and keep his sanity intact when the world comes apart at the seams. Veronica, the high school track star races to get her brother out of the city and into the safety of Franklin Woods. Along the way we come across the struggles of finding solace, finding out who you really are, and making decisions in a post apocalyptic world. The Breadwinner is a three part story and the first book in a planned series that will leave you craving more.


My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Runner Stars.
I received this book in return for an honest review.
This review is probably the hardest I think I've had to write so far. The Breadwinner is amazing. The one thing that kinda threw me were all the characters. It was hard to keep it, but once you got to remembering who was who, you really get sucked in. I can't tell you how many times someone would try talking to me and I wouldn't hear a word they said, or I'd be so into reading I'd lose track of time. It was so action packed and full of drama, I thought I'd end up having a heart attack.
This was a quick read. I absolutely loved how there was so drop off or anything. from page one to the very last page it keeps you on your toes wanting to know more and more.
If I could rate it more than 5 stars, I would.

For the full review + gifs, go here: The Breadwinner by Stevie Kopas

Wednesday, April 1, 2015

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Synopsis

In Beatrice Prior's dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue--Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is--she can't have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.
During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are--and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she's chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she's kept hidden from everyone because she's been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, Tris also learns that her secret might help her save the ones she loves . . . or it might destroy her. 


My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Dauntless Stars.
Can we just step back a moment aaaand...

Whoa.
This was exhilarating!

One Choice
One Choice, decided your friends.
One Choice, defines your beliefs.
One Choice, determines your loyalties - Forever.
ONCE CHOICE CAN TRANSFORM YOU
 

*insight on why I even started it*
This book has honestly been on my bookshelf for a year now, and I always said I would get around to reading it. But I ended up buying the movie the day it came out and also said "I'm not watching it till I have read the book." So if you follow, I've had the movie almost a year as well. Apparently, no one is as patient as I am when it comes to this stuff. I can't tell you how many people have got tired of waiting and just spilled spoilers after spoilers. So I had to break down and finally read it.

I'm glad I did!

Now on to my review.
Divergent was amazing!! It was wonderfully written. Veronica Roth went into such great detail about everything in just the perfect amount, so she didn't put you to sleep with information overload. The settings, the characters..just EVERYTHING was excellent perfection.For me, this book made me feel like I was living everything and I was apart of it.. Though, not just apart of it, but like I belonged there. I can actually say, I feel Dauntless. (Then again, upon taking the quiz at the end, it said that Dauntless would be my faction. Haha)
There were a few times I had to put the book down and step back to calm down from the emotion overload...and then I had to stop myself from running all around the house fangirling. 
I know a lot of people say this book is just a Hunger Games rip off... I don't see it. Which truth be told, if one book is like another book, I am real fast to call it out. But I didn't see that in these books. I can see how people MIGHT compare the two by saying the government is ruling everything and a girl has to pretty much save the day.. But I still don't agree they are anything a like. Truth be told, if you love The Hunger GamesI would actually recommend Divergent to you.
I kid you not, I finished this book at 12am this morning and I wanted (so bad) to hop in the car to get the second book from the store. I can't wait till I get the second book and am able to read it. 
I'm sure I'll add more to this review later over time, but right now, I'm still stuck in the "Oh my freakin gah! That was amazing!!" mind frame.

Quotes
“Becoming fearless isn't the point. That's impossible. It's learning how to control your fear, and how to be free from it.” 

“We believe in ordinary acts of bravery, in the courage that drives one person to stand up for another.” 

“I am selfish. I am brave.”