Sunday, November 30, 2014

See Me (Zombie Love, Book #1) by Susan Hatler

Synopsis


Amy Love, a high school junior, plays a Ouija board with friends one night and unintentionally connects with someone whose, well, not visible to the naked eye. When her body’s taken over and her soul is stuck watching helplessly—she’s terrified. When the zombie guzzles bologna that she will have to work off at the gym—she’s angry. And, when her zombied body pulls up a news article on her laptop about a boy named Jonathan Miller who was recently in a car crash—she’s . . . intrigued. When the zombie chooses another host, Amy learns that the zombie is actually teen Jonathan Miller, son of the famous Maisy's Meow comic creator Jacob Miller. Jonathan tells Amy he doesn’t know whether he’s dead or alive, only that when he’s not in a body, she is the only one who seems to know he exists. Amy decides to help Jonathan discover what happened to him and, when they can’t find his body, they try to find a substitute—preferably one that isn’t occupied. On the journey, Jonathan leads Amy into all kinds of danger. To her surprise, he also leads her heart to somewhere unexpected. She’s always heard of love at first sight, not love at first fright, but how can Amy be falling for a boy she’s never even seen? 




My Thoughts
★★★★★ 5 Wonderful Stars!!
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
If I could give it more stars, I would. I mean seriously. Be still my beating heart!
I try to keep gifs out of my reviews here to keep it a little neater, but this one is a must have:

This book was marvelous. It was such a beautiful well written story and I am so GLAD I came across this and was allowed to read it. I was actually reading a few other books at the time when I received this book, but it was so good, it made me put down all the others just so I could put all my attention into this one. If there was EVER a book I would buy in nearly every format and read over and over and over again, it would honestly be this book. It was packed with so many emotions! I laughed my behind off, I panicked, I cried, I laughed some more... Just SO much!
I am IN LOVE with this book!

Quotes
―"You're suppose to be helping me get ready for my date―not trying to summon the dead, which is wrong on so many levels."

Friday, November 28, 2014

The Originals 1-3 by Julie Plec


The fact that book 1 doesn't come out till January and the 3rd book is scheduled to come out in May... is anyone else fan-girling as much as I am over this? I'm already in love with the covers!

Under My Skin (Immortality Strain #1) by Shawntelle Madison

Synopsis

Everyone wants to either be a member of the Guild or work for them. Little does the populace know that the Guild hides sinister secrets...
For Tate Sullivan, life in her small, coastal town is far from glamorous. The affluent lives of the Guild members and their servants isn't something she has ever wanted. But all sixteen year-olds must take a simple test, and Tate's result thrusts her into the Guild's world, one where they hide horrible plans for those they select. Tate must fight the relentless General Dagon for control of her mind, body, and soul to keep the one precious thing she has always taken for granted: herself.
Her only ally is the same handsome boy she is pitted against in General Dagon’s deadly game. Quinn desires nothing more than to end the life of General Dagon who has taken over Tate's mind. While romance blooms between Tate and Quinn, General Dagon plots to eventually take over Tate's body, and love might end before it even begins.

My Thoughts
★★★★★ 5 Stars
I honestly don't think I can write a review without giving some of the story away, so you'll be reading this at your own risk. If you don't mind a few spoilers, keep on reading. If you hate all spoilers, stop reading now. 
May I just say, "WOW!" and "WHAO!"
I was shocked when I was actually able to get into this book, really. Because mind control or things like that really aren't my cup of tea at all. Had I not knew already this was just plainly about humans who figured out how to switch into someone else's body, I would have thought this was about aliens and they'd take over your body like Hosts or something. Glad it wasn't, I can't stand aliens. (Sorry, all you alien lovers out there. I meant no harm, just isn't my thing.) 
Shawntelle Madison really keeps you guessing up till the very end. I thought for sure the old fart would win out. But after that ending, oh man. I had to fight the urge to jump up and pump my fist in the air going "♫Oh yeah! Uh-huh! It's ya birthday!♫"
*Cough* pretty sure new age kids won't get that 90's reference. Haha.
But yeah. This book was pretty good. 5 Stars!

Monday, November 24, 2014

Coral & Bone by Tiffany Daune


Synopsis
Halen knows the sparks igniting under her fingertips are dangerous. She has spent her entire life trying to quell the tingly feelings that make her destroy things, but now that she is back in Rockaway Beach, where she watched her father drown, the flames have become impossible to tame.Halen is trying to hold on, but when she is thrust into a mysterious new world, the underwater realm of Elosia, she unravels the secrets of her past and can't help but ignite. As she explores Elosia, she realizes her life has been a lie. And when those who have deceived her come to her for help, Halen must choose—walk away or unleash the magick that could destroy them all.




My Thoughts
★★★½ stars.
I received this book from NG in return for an honest review.
I hate leaving negative reviews, I really am sorry. But this book was a tough one.
I kinda have a love/hate relationship with this book. I wanted this book because 1) it sounded so amazing. 2) The cover is kick-butt. 
The ending was awesome but all in all, this book was disappointing. Some of the names of people and places were hard to grasp and remember. There were way to many characters coming all at once and while I was reading, I actually had to stop and think of all the characters and go "Oh! I remember who that is now." Also, a lot of times when I was reading, I was left with a raised eyebrow going "Huh?" in a loss because I feel as if I missed something even though so much was going on.  Books normally don't take me long to read. 3 days at the most. This one took me almost 2 weeks because it was just to much and gave me a headache.

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Sleepers (The Swarm Trilogy #1) by Megg Jensen

Synopsis
An adoptee raised in a foreign land, sixteen-year-old Lianne was content with her life as handmaiden to the queen, until a spell cast on her at birth activated. Now she's filled with uncontrollable rage and access to magic she thought had been bled from her people years ago. Even her years of secret training in elite hand-to-hand combat and meditation can’t calm the fires raging inside her. Her heart is torn between two boys, the one she’s always loved and the one who always ignored her. But when the kingdom threatens to tear itself apart due to rumors surrounding the queen’s alleged affair, who will Lianne protect and who will she destroy?
My Thoughts

★★★★★ 5+ Wonderful Stars

Right from the start I knew this book was going to be a unique page turner. It's not often you come across a book that has a young queen who is best friends with a adopted maid. I use the term maid loosely here because while, yes, she did help out with a lot of things, she was also allowed a lot of things others weren't.
This was one of those books where I thought "Yeah, yeah yeah. This, this, and this is gonna happen." Man was I wrong. I was gasping and had my jaw dropped half the time from things I didn't except to happen. Sleepers was truly an amazing read! It's one of those that I kinda wish I could unread, just so I could read it again.
Megg Jensen is a true amazing author, and I cannot wait to read the rest of these books.

Friday, November 14, 2014

The Burning (The Fear Street Saga Trilogy #3) by R.L. Stine

Synopsis

Daniel and Nora, two young lovers from feuding families, must use their forbidden love to stop the awesome evil that stalks Nora and her family.


My Thoughts


★★★★★ 5+ Standing Ovation Stars

Such a amazing ending to a awesome start!
I honestly didn't expect this book to end the way it did... 
Actually, I didn't expect anything in this book. It all caught me off guard leaving me with a "that's new" thought and O_O look on my face. All in all, this book was AMAZING! 

Thursday, November 13, 2014

The Secret (The Fear Street Saga Trilogy #2) by R.L. Stine

Synopsis


In this terrifying new trilogy, R.L. Stine takes readers back in time, telling them finally the awful truth of what happened to the cursed Fear family . . . and why their evil lives on. Simon Fier meets an old gypsy who tells him his family will all die in a terrible fire. Terrified, he changes the family name to Fear, but he can't escape the curse.

My thoughts


★★★★★ 5+ Great Stars



I am no longer Simon Fier.
Now and forever I will be known as Simon FEAR


This book probably made me look like my eyes were going to bug out of my head I was so into it. I couldn't help it. It sucked me in and once I got into it, I couldn't stop reading. I'm loving how she is writing out this whole story and she goes into just enough detail without drowning you with it.

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

The Betrayal (The Fear Street Saga Trilogy #1) by R.L. Stine

Synopsis

The Secret is Out!
Why do so many horrifying things happen on Fear Street? Nora knows.
She knows how the terror began. She knows about the young girl who burned at the stake--and the bloody feud between two families that caused the unspeakable horror that has lasted 300 years!
She knows, and she wants to tell.
Are you sure you want to hear it?


My thoughts
★★★★★ 5+ Gripping Stars!


As she set the basket down on the floor, Mary hearda soft creaking sound. She listened for a few seconds, trying to figure out what was making the sound. 

Then she suddenly noticed the black shadow swinging back and forth across the floor. 


Confused, she stared down at the slowly moving shadow for a long while, following it with her eyes narrowed. 


Creak. Creak.


The odd sound repeated in a rhythm with the shadow. Then she raised her eyes and saw what was casting the shadow - and started to scream. 

I love R.L. Stine's books! They are so thrilling! They grab your attention and keep it, making you want more and more. You have/must know what happens. The man has a gift with writing! This is one book I can read over and over again and I'll never get bored. I'll always stay glued to it, wanting more, like I don't already know what's going to happen.

The Originals: The Rise by Julie Plec


Goodness alive!
Sorry, I know I only post book reviews but I have to fan-girl a bit here.
I cannot wait for this book to come out!
I love the show am so excited about the book!

Saturday, November 8, 2014

After the End by Bonnie Dee

Synopsis

Zombies are on the loose and the world is falling apart. In the tradition of apocalyptic novels such as Stephen King’s THE STAND, a group of strangers on a Manhattan subway are brought together in the name of survival. The group follows the lead of Ari Brenner, a young man who doesn’t recognize his own leadership qualities and believes they follow him simply because he wears an army uniform. Lila Teske, a college student studying philosophy, finds her non-violent beliefs tested in the crucible of a zombie attack. There are other members of the diverse group, but the focus of the story is on Ari and Lila, two young people who learn about sacrifice and inner strength through the ordeal. 
With the city’s infrastructure down and communication with the outside world curtailed the survivors head toward the nearest marina. When they meet a lab tech who may have a solution to the virus, they know his safety is paramount and it’s more important than ever that they get off the island. But zombies aren’t the only danger that impedes them on their perilous journey.Be sure to check out the exciting sequel, Dead Country, about a new set of characters surviving zombies in the Midwest plains.
My thoughts
★ One Painful Star.
I'm sorry this review is taking so long. To be honest, this book is moving along at a snails pace. You'd think with it being about zombies and the apocalypse it'd be enthralling and interesting, but isn't.
I finally, FINALLY, finished the book.
Apocalypse!!! Zombies!!! Yaaaaaay!!
Yeah... No.
I hate leaving negative feedback but this book was so disappointing. 
You would think with it being about zombies and the apocalypse, it would make you want to read it all in one setting and just devour it.

I was wrong.


For Full Review Please Go Here
After the End Full Review