Sunday, March 11, 2018

Toast by Valentino Mori


Title: Toast
Author: Valentino Mori
Pages: 301
Published: July 24th 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing
Genre: Middle Grade/Fantasy
My Rating: 2/5
Add To: Goodreads

Eleven-year-old Henry stumbles through a portal onto the estate of the sinister Mr. Mason.  Henry quickly discovers he’s not the only one trapped at Verdant Corner by Mason’s dark sorcery.  He and the other boys must compete in weekly games where losing means death.
Henry must enlist allies from unlikely places—a rogue deliveryman who is more than he seems, spectral figures from Henry's past, and creatures from the mysterious Yonder—in his desperate rebellion against the evil threatening him and his friends.
Can Henry learn the truth about Mr. Mason's powers? And will that knowledge be enough to survive?

My Thoughts
★★ Star

I tried with this book. I really did. Multiple times. 

When I read the blurb I was so excited to read this book! I couldn't help think it was like Hunger Games meets the Maze Runner with a twist of magic! Who wouldn't want to read something that epic!?

Right from the start you're automatically thrust into action. No warm up or anything, you're just dropped in. Which for me was kinda an issue because here is the main character which all this bad stuff is happening to but you don't really feel anything. You haven't had enough time to really get to know him. I know you could get to know him the more you read...if there weren't so many characters being forced on you so quick. Also being that Toast rarely has a scene to himself or even just one on one with someone (not saying it doesn't happen, just saying it is rare) it makes it really hard to focus on who is who. It also makes it really hard to develop a connection with any of the characters. 

I really did want to love this book. The cover is so beautiful and the story line is so amazing. It's just.... to overwhelming.

Friday, March 2, 2018

{Review} Ready Player One by Ernest Cline


Title: Ready Player One
Author: Ernest Cline
Pages: 386
Published: January 30th 2018
Publisher: Broadway Books
Genre: Young Adult/Science Fiction
My Rating: 1/5
Add To: Goodreads

In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he's jacked into the virtual utopia known as the OASIS. Wade's devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world's digital confines--puzzles that are based on their creator's obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them.
But when Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade's going to survive, he'll have to win--and confront the real world he's always been so desperate to escape.
My Thoughts
★ Star

Completely unimpressed. 

This book was so unoriginal it was borderline theft.

I was so excited to read this book because like everyone else, I heard how amazballs this book was and because COME ON!! The 80s!! Even as a 90s kid I knew the 80s were awesome. I knew I couldn't pass this up.

I very quickly regretted this decision. It started out give you way to much unimportant information. Each chapter had maybe a page or two worth reading then the rest was just "fill in". Not to mention this book was as flat as the pages it was written on. I had zero connection with any of the characters. I think the only one I slightly liked was Ach or however you spell his/her name. And Im not even sure why. 


As for the story line its pretty much been done before. 
The movie was called Gamer if I'm not mistaken.

I think the author just tweaked it to fit. Took a bunch of 80s stuff and tossed it in. There was NOTHING original about this. 

Don't waste your time. If you're curious, just watch the movie. 
Never thought I'd say those words but there they are.

Monday, February 26, 2018

{Review} Spinner by Michael J. Bowler

Title: Spinner
Author: Michael J. Bowler
Pages: 410
Published: July 25th 2015
Publisher: YoungDudes Publishing
Genre: Young Adult/Horror/Paranormal/LGBQ
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

Fifteen-year-old Alex is a “spinner.” His friends are “dummies.” Two clandestine groups of humans want his power. And an ancient evil is stalking him. If people weren’t being murdered, Alex might laugh at how his life turned into a horror movie overnight.
In a wheelchair since birth, his freakish ability has gotten him kicked out of ten foster homes since the age of four. Now saddled with a sadistic housemother who uses his spinning to heal the kids she physically abuses, Alex and his misfit group of learning disabled classmates are the only ones who can solve the mystery of his birth before more people meet a gruesome end.
They need to find out who murdered their beloved teacher, and why the hot young substitute acts like she’s flirting with them. Then there’s the mysterious medallion that seems to have unleashed something malevolent, and an ancient prophecy suggesting Alex has the power to destroy humanity.
The boys break into homes, dig up graves, elude kidnappers, fight for their lives against feral cats, and ultimately confront an evil as old as humankind. Friendships are tested, secrets uncovered, love spoken, and destiny revealed.
The kid who’s always been a loner will finally learn the value of friends, family, and loyalty.
If he survives…
My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars

Spinner was a different kind of read. 
Fans of Stephen King and Ted Dekker would enjoy this book.

It took me a while to actually get into the book and I am not really sure why but once I stuck with it and pushed through, I didn't want to put it down. 

I want to say I loved all of the characters but.. sadly I only liked about three of them. I adored Alex and Roy but my all time favorite was the neighbor. She was so sweet to those boys. 
I loved the idea of this book. It was a mix of Stephen King and Ted Dekker but written better.... (IMO!) I have never read anything like this before. I feel like Michael took so many ideas and put them together and his talent made them work perfectly together. 

I did have a few problems mainly with "Spinning". I found it confusing to begin with and I think I just accepted it and rolled with it (no pun intended) it wasn't until the very end that I understood exactly what it was but I am still unsure why they call it "spinning". 

Once it got to the end, I admit, I started skimming because it was losing my attention. I am not sure if it was because I just NEEDED to know that happens at the end to calm down. Or if it had unnecessary information that I didn't care for. I was probably just over excited. Lol.
I am so thankful for that ending though. I thought it would leave with a TON of questions unanswered but again, Michael pulled out all of the stops and managed to answer all the answers I had. Lol

I am hoping for a book two. Certainly there is more story to tell. More *people* to get to know. Lol

Monday, February 19, 2018

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

Title: A Court of Wings and Ruin
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #3
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Pages: 699
Published: May 2nd 2017
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books
Genre: New Adult/Romance/Fantasy
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads

Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series.
Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin's manoeuvrings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit – and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.
As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords – and hunt for allies in unexpected places.
In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.
My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars
I finished this book the other day and am honestly still at a lack of words! 
This book ate my soul and stole my will to live! 

Really all I want to do is post endless gifs because I feel like they would do better than me TRYING to put my feelings into words. Lol But alas, I can't do that. 

ACOMAF will always be my favorite but this one is dang near wanting to tie with it. I gotta admit the 700 pages was a bit intimidating but I drove right in. Once I got started I couldn't and wouldn't stop! 
ACOWAR seriously screwed with my mind. It pulled the ultimate mind-f*ck. 

Can I just talk about how wonderfully this book was written? How the hell can you have so much going on and keep a reader so dang hooked without dropping them once?
I only had a few "ehhhh" moments with this book. I say ehhh because they aren't really "problems" but kinda "I wish this/this/this happened instead of this/this/this." example, ELAIN!!! I know she is the most sweetest character ever written in the face of the book world. But I really expected her to break out of that and become this ultimate bad ass character that would would shock the hell out of the readers but sadly she stayed this meek character that was coddled. Even in the mix of war, she made one move. That is it. I get that move was life and death but it was so small that I just wanted to cry. Lol. I just really wanted to see her blossom. 

And can we talk about Tam the tool for a second here.. mainly:

Until the end of this book. While I can say, yes, he is still a complete tool... I don't hate him as much as I did. 

This book will seriously mess with your mind though. People you thought you could trust are no longer trustworthy. People you hate and wouldn't spit on if they were on fire are suddenly people you want to rely on. 

that ending made me cry so hard. I'm talkin' face purple, waking the house, sobbing my head off sad. Those deaths should not have happened! YOU KILLED SOME OF MY FAVORITE CHARACTERS!!!! HOW DARE YOU!?!?!?! 



I loved this series so much. I can't wait for the newest book. I don't think I will be able to read anything else for a bit because I am still stuck in these books. Lol 

Tuesday, January 30, 2018

{Wrap-Up} January Reads!

So January was a pretty slow month for me reading wise. I had really hoped to finish more books but I kinda centered in on 2 series (ACOTAR and Mara Dyer) they both left me with book hang-overs so I was unable to move on. Lol

I can't wait to see what happens next in the series. I really hope February is kind and lets me finish ACOWAR and book 3 to Mara Dyer! (*LETS HOPE!!*) Other than that I am not sure what I will read this upcoming month. BUT! If you are curious about this months read, keep reading. It's coming up!

This time, I won't be posting Synopsis but I will post the links to my full reviews and there they have what the books are about.

The first book I finished was A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas... and I curse whoever got me into this series because I am so invested and addicted to these books, it's unreal! I didn't even like them when they fist came out! But I kept hearing "Try it again, it gets better!" I did. They were right. I was wrong. CURSE YOU!!!!! Lol Love this series so much! Full review:HERE.

The next book I finished was Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin. Mainly because I didn't have book 3 to ACOTAR and needed something to pass the time... Little did I know it would start a whole new addiction! So far I have rated it 3 stars with the promise of changing the rating once I finished book 2. I have finished book 2 but have yet to write a book review. Not sure why, IT WAS FREAKING AWESOME! But my brain implodes when I try to write my feelings. Lol ANYWHO! back to about book one. It was .... It left me with a lot of questions. But book 2 did answer a few of those. I need to change the rating from 3 to a 4 or 5. Not sure yet. But again, it's an addiction and I need the rest of the series in my life! Lol. Full review can be found HERE.

For those that know me, know I am a HUGE Olivia Wildenstein fanatic. Especially with her Lost Clan series. So when she announced the cover reveal, you KNOW I had to jump on that quick, fast and in a hurry! LOL The reveal can be found: HERE . And trust me, you'll want to see that gem!

Sticking with cover reveals. you know I HAD to do this next one! A Court of Frost and Starlight cover is drool worthy! If you haven't seen it, you will want to! Check it: HERE.

Here is where I get back to the review. Lol This next one was for Kingdom of Darkness by Tricia Copeland. I actually started this book last year but didn't get around to finishing it due to family things. But, when I picked it up, I couldn't stop. I didn't realize how much I had missed these characters and their battles. Though.... I didn't feel as connected with this book as I did with the first book. Don't get me wrong, this one was just as amazing but I just didn't feel as connected to these characters. The review can be found: HERE.

I love zombies. If you couldn't tell already. Lol I've had This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers on my bookshelf for 2 or 3 years now and finally got around to reading it. I suppose you can say this was my first negative read this year. It was terrible. I'm sorry but it was. I didn't enjoy the writing. I didn't like or connect with any of the characters. The lack of zombies and action made me question if it was really a zombie book. It's really just a group of teens trapped in a school. Lord Of The Flies style. Just wasn't a fan. Review can be found:HERE.

Last but not least. Bloody Mary. Bloody Mary. Bloody Mary. *evil smile* Lol I finished book two of the Bloody Mary series. (MARY: Unleashed by Hillary Monahan) I'm kinda conflicted. I loved this book but the ending made me so mad I can hardly stand it. I felt like the tension was building and building. Like some stuff was REALLY bout to go down. But. That. Ending. Ugh. Lol anyway, the book itself really was awesome. And heartbreaking. Review can be found: HERE.

And that is all for now, my little zombie hoards! Hopefully Feb will have a lot more reviews, posts and reveals! Who knows! If there is anything you would like me to post about, talk about. Just email me or leave a comment! All are welcome! XOXOXOXO

{Review} MARY: Unleashed by Hillary Monahan


Title: MARY: Unleashed
Series: Bloody Mary #2
Author: Hillary Monahan
Pages: 245
Published: September 8th 2015
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Genre: Young Adult/Horror/Paranormal
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

Mary in the mirror.
Mary in the glass.
Mary in the water.

Mary lurks in the emptiness, in the darkness . . . in the reflection. That is, until Jess unleashes her into the world. Now Mary Worth is out and her haunting is deadlier than ever.
No one is safe.
Shauna, Kitty, and Jess must band together to unearth the truth about Mary's death to put her soul to rest for good. Their search leads them back to where it all began-to Solomon's Folly, a place as dangerous as the ghost who died there a century and a half ago. Quick sand, hidden traps and a phantom fog are the least of their worries. To stop Mary, they need to follow a dark string of clues and piece together a gruesome mystery that spans generations.
But time is running out.
As chilling facts come to light, Mary inches ever closer to her prey. Can Jess, Shauna, and Kitty break Mary's curse before it's too late? Or will history repeat itself until there is no one left to call her name . . . ?
My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars

I finished this book yesterday after devouring it in just a few hours.

I must say... This book left me incredibly disappointed. It started off well enough. We pick up right where book one ends and the story just seems to be getting better and better.

We start finding out all these answers about what happened to Mary and why she is like this. Personally, it broke my heart and sadly I started rooting for Mary. She definitely had a jacked up life. No one deserves what happened to her.

I'm still left with a few questions though. Mainly when it says when bodies aren't in abundance, she turns to *that*family... What would happen if she killed them and people didn't call on her? Would she be trapped or wither away? 

Can we all agree we hate Jess? She had absolutely no care for anyone else. As long as she was safe, she'd throw anyone and everyone at Mary then cry and say "sorry" when they called her out on it. 

I get this is "Mary: Unleashed" and I have no idea why though. Yes, she's free but we rarely see her. I wanted a bit more Mary this go around. Lol

I'll say this, it didn't fail to give me anxiety. Just like book one, I thought I was going to have a heart attack... Least until I got to the end. It was a HUUUUUUGE let down!!! 

Why would you end it like that? The tension was building and building, you expect this huge explosion of "oh shit!!!"
But there was no explosion. Just left me going "well. That happened. Great. Yay. Okay."

This book would have been amazing of the ending had been better to be honest.

And what oh what is in that field?

{Review} This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers

Title: This is Not a Test
Series: This is Not a Test #1
Author: Courtney Summers
Pages: 322
Published: June 19 2012
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Genre: Young Adult/Dystopia/Zombies
My Rating: 1/5
Add To: Goodreads

It's the end of the world. Six students have taken cover in Cortege High but shelter is little comfort when the dead outside won't stop pounding on the doors. One bite is all it takes to kill a person and bring them back as a monstrous version of their former self. To Sloane Price, that doesn't sound so bad. Six months ago, her world collapsed and since then, she's failed to find a reason to keep going. Now seems like the perfect time to give up. As Sloane eagerly waits for the barricades to fall, she's forced to witness the apocalypse through the eyes of five people who actually want to live. But as the days crawl by, the motivations for survival change in startling ways and soon the group's fate is determined less and less by what's happening outside and more and more by the unpredictable and violent bids for life—and death—inside. When everything is gone, what do you hold on to?
My Thoughts
★ Stars

Pros: Zombies.
Cons: Everything else.

This Is Not A Test sounds awesome when you think about it. A group of teens in a school trying to survive against a world of the undead? Count me in!

But.... Now I've read it, I wish I hadn't... You can count me out now.

I was NOT a fan of the writing in this book. It was completely choppy and you couldn't tell where something started and something finished. The thoughts she had blended into what was happening at the time and was confusing and pointless.
Anyone else wonder why they felt the need to let us know someone was jerking off? That was so off topic and out-of-the-ball-park-off-the-wall not needed information.

The damn NEVER ENDING "Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly.
Got on my last damn nerve!!
Along with her jacked up "You left me so I'm going to hurt/kill myself to get back at you!!!" Thing made me want to scream.

Rhys should have just let her nose dive into a hoard.

Speaking of hoards....can you really call this a zombie book when there are only about 5 pages that actually involve them?
Not to mention the lack of action. Which when there is, Sloane still manages to screw it up with the "whoa is me. Poor pitiful me. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Boo hoo hoooooo pitty meeee!!!!! I know all y'all's family is dead, you SAW them die! But what about meeeeee !?!? Lilly left meeeeeee!!! Lilly. Lilly. Lilly."

I can't blame lilly for leaving. Good gah.
I get she had a really bad life, I do. I felt bad for her at first. But the more I read, she just pissed me off. Childish and self-centered.

I felt zero connection to ANY of the characters. I felt this book was poorly written.

{Review} Kingdom of Darkness by Tricia Copeland


Title: Kingdom of Darkness
Series: Kingdom Journals #2
Author: Tricia Copeland
Pages: 322
Published: June 21st 2017
Publisher: True Bird Publishing LLC
Genre: Young Adult/Paranormal/Fantasy
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

Award Finalist for Fantasy Fiction genre in the 2017 Best Book Awards, Kingdom of Darkness follows a trinity of witches as they race to break an age old curse before it is too late. Read Camille's journey in Kingdom of Darkness.
From the back cover:
"… the previous night’s vision, or whatever it was, ended with a name I heard clear as day, as if the people were in my room. Ivy, the girl and boy recited together.” – Camille
Could her dreams be real? Is she the key to freeing witches from their curse? Of course not, right? Thinking that her only chance at a normal life lay in a new treatment, Camille joins Dr. Antos and a group of teens for a month long camping trip in Iceland. There she meets Jude, a fellow schizophrenic. Dr. Antos invites Camille and Jude to extend their work with him on the island of Sardinia. Camille is suspicious of Dr. Antos’s intentions but her dad goes missing, leaving her no choice but to travel to Italy. Is she walking into a lion’s den or has her illness invaded her reality?
My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars

I know I went MIA from reading this book but I had to take a break from reading due to.....things. 
It took me a while to work my way up to finishing this book and I apologize for that.

I've missed these characters!! I've missed their world and their dedication!! But I still don't feel as connected to them as I do Alena and Hunter. I have no idea why and it kills me!

As weird as it sounds, I feel like Camille is a weak character. Like she's the little sister the group is gonna have to protect. And I know in shouldn't think that because I feel like book 3 is gonna make me regret it. Lol like she's gonna end up being the baddest b*tch in the series.
Who knows. I could be wrong. Lol

I loved this book almost as much as book one......almost.
My only problem honestly is the whole "descended from angels" bit. When religion ends up involved in a story, its off putting. (That's just me though. Others may love this idea. Its just to me, it always starts arguments and we have enough of that in the real world. Lol)

Anyway. Back to the story,
I knew that ending was coming!!! 
Yet I was not prepared for it. It still took my breath and made me see stars lol.

Can't wait to read book 3 and see how it turns out!!

{Cover Reveal} A Court of Frost and Starlight by Sarah J. Maas

A companion tale to the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series that takes place several months after the explosive events of A Court of Wings and Ruin
Narrated by Feyre and Rhysand, this story bridges the events in A Court of Wings and Ruin and the upcoming novels in the series.
Feyre, Rhys and their companions are still busy rebuilding the Night Court and the vastly changed world beyond. But Winter Solstice is finally near, and with it a hard-earned reprieve. Yet even the festive atmosphere can’t keep the shadows of the past from looming. As Feyre navigates her first Winter Solstice as High Lady, she finds that those dearest to her have more wounds than she anticipated – scars that will have a far-reaching impact on the future of their court.

On Sale May 1, 2018

Pre-order from: Bloomsbury Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-a-million | IndieBound | iBookstore | Kobo | Waterstones | Amazon UK | Book Depository

About The Author:
Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series (Queen of Shadows, Book 4, will be out in September 2015), as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series (out 5/5/15).

Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she's not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion.

Monday, January 22, 2018

{Cover Reveal} Rising Silver Mist by Olivia Wildenstein

Title: Rising Silver Mist (The Lost Clan #3)
Author: Olivia Wildenstein
Genre: Urban Fantasy/Paranormal
Add To: Goodreads

First, I would never kill another person. But when a family friend murdered my father, I destroyed her with a power I didn't even know I possessed.
Second, I would never strike another bargain. But faeries could bring the dead back, so when Cruz offered to revive my father, I accepted.
Third, I would never marry an enemy, but every bargain comes at a price. The price of mine: I had to marry Cruz and move to the faerie isle.
For the first time in my life, I wondered if death wouldn't be a kinder end.
Fans of THE VAMPIRE DIARIES will adore Wildenstein's LOST CLAN series.
About the Author:
Olivia Wildenstein grew up in New York City, the daughter of a French father with a great sense of humor, and a Swedish mother whom she speaks to at least three times a day. She chose Brown University to complete her undergraduate studies and earned a bachelor’s in comparative literature. After designing jewelry for a few years, Wildenstein traded in her tools for a laptop computer and a very comfortable chair. This line of work made more sense, considering her college degree.

When she’s not writing, she’s psychoanalyzing everyone she meets (Yes. Everyone), eavesdropping on conversations to gather material for her next book, baking up a storm (that she actually eats), going to the gym (because she eats), and attempting not to be late at her children’s school (like she is 4 out of 5 mornings, on good weeks).

Wildenstein lives with her husband and three children in Geneva, Switzerland, where she’s an active member of the writing community.

Previous books:
Title: Rose Petal Graves
Series: The Lost Clan
Author: Olivia Wildenstein
My Rating: 5/5
Review can be found: Here

Founded two centuries ago by a powerful tribe of Gottwa Indians, Rowan was a quiet town, so quiet that I fled after graduation. Staying away was the plan, but Mom died suddenly.
Dad said she suffered a stroke after she dug up one of the ancient graves in our backyard, which happens to be the town cemetery. Creepy, I know. Creepier still, there was no corpse inside the old coffin, only fresh rose petals.
As we made preparations for Mom’s burial, new people began arriving in Rowan, unnervingly handsome and odd people. I begged them to leave, but they stayed, because their enemies—my ancestors—were beginning to awaken.

Title: Rowan Wood Legends
Series: The Lost Clan #2
Author: Olivia Wildenstein
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads
Review can be found: Here

I wasn’t the sort of girl who believed in fairytales, let alone tales about faeries. But that changed the day Faeries came to my small town and Hunters rose from their graves.
On that fateful day, I received a book, a peculiar collection of myths and legends. Turns out it was so much more than stories. And just as I was on the verge of unlocking its secrets, it was stolen from me by someone I called a friend.
Now, I don’t know whom I can turn to, whom I can trust. All I know is that there are two sides, and I am straddling the great divide because I am both Faerie and Hunter. And although I swore I would never choose, I am slowly falling for one of those sides…

{Review} The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin


Title: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer
Series: Mara Dyer #1
Author: Michelle Hodkin
Pages: 452
Published: October 23rd 2012
Publisher: Simon Schuster Books for Young Readers
Genre: Young Adult/Paranormal/Romance
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.
She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.
There is.
She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

My Thoughts
★★★ Stars

Starting the book: I'm liking this.
Middle of the book:... Where is this going?
End of the book: what the hell was the plot?! 

I wanted to love this book. Everyone I know that has read it GUSHES over this book. I admit, I did too when I first started it.
I have a love/hate relationship with this book.

I really wasn't a fan of the sudden "insta-love" but Noah ended up growing on me. There were some times I thought he was a little to cocky, especially when they talked about Anna? Anne? Whatever her name was... Or any girl for that matter, wanting him. Then he just oozed douchery. *gag*

The one character I could actively stand and wish there was more of was Jamie. He was super adorable.
And I loved all the Harry Potter references. Lol that's what really drew me in and made me giggle.

The main issues I had with this book was honestly the lack of plot. It's pretty much:
Mara plays with Ouija board.
Mara kills with a single thought.
Mara finds insta-love.
Mara's brother goes missing
Insta-love can apparently heal with a single thought.
Insta-love can "see" things through others eyes.
Mara finds kidnapper. 
Pretty much the whole Paranormal vibe going on. Only to get to the end of the book and realize it's a over romance mystery. 
I'm not a fan of mysteries. 

Also, I can understand this is a series but by the end of book one, you'd at least want SOME questions s answered. You don't want to be left with MORE questions. It leaves the book off putting. Or at least the ending. 

I was so in love with this book and ready to give it 5 stars..... Until the final 30-40 pages when it kicked in there would be no answers and more questions. Now I really just want to give it one star but I'll settle for 3.

The ending was to much of a buzz kill. 

If I read book 2, I'll mainly be because a friend asked me to read it.

Over all Feelings:

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

{Review} A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas


Title: A Court of Mist and Fury
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #2
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Pages: 626
Published: May 3rd 2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Genre: New Adult/Romance/Fantasy
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads

Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people.
Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.
With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas's masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

My Thoughts
★★★★★++ Stars

He thinks he'll be remembered as the villain in the story. But I forgot to tell him that the villain is usually the person who locks up the maiden and throws away the key. He was the one who let me out.

I have never had a book leave me as breathless and at a loss of words as this book did. Nor did I expect to love this book as much as I did ACOTAR. 
I remember the hate I had for Rhysand and I swore up and down I would never ever like him or be on his side! Sweet balls of fire, I was so beyond wrong that I am very happy it's not illegal LOL!

What can I say about this book that hasn't been said before? Possibly nothing because I know it's all been said. But I still have to review it the best I can. Lol.

ACOMAF will stay with me as long as I live. I have never had a book that made me literally scream. Cry, yes. But scream? Nope. That's a first. 
I really didn't think it could be better than book one because let's face it.... book one was freakin awesome. But Maas stepped up her game hardcore. Which is why it took me so long to even write this review. From the second I finished it up till now, and I am sure fro days to come, my brain is just screaming non-stop. Haha. 

For all of you who TOLD ME I would change my mind... You deserve the stars in the Night Court because you were so right. 
I LOVE RHYSAND!! *screams*

In a nuthsell lol

This book was one heck of an emotional ride and I loved every second of it...... Except that ending. That ending can go rot in hell under the mountain for all I can. I NEED BOOK 3!!! I can NOT have this as my last memory! I can't! 
I have so many questions and I need answers! NOW! 

Long story short, This book is a must read. It was written amazingly and John Green needs to move over because Maas knows how to pull them heart strings now and ... just oh my gosh. This book, y'all. Why did I wait so freaking long to start this series?!

If I could rate more than 5 stars, I would. Though I must add, I have no idea how this is labeled Young Adult.... I'm grown and the sex scenes in this book make even me blush! Lol

**Side Note, I may come back and edit this whole thing when my brain is no longer screaming and trying to explode. I know this is unprofessional review. But it's how I feel at the time. Suck my wingspan! lol**

Also, mega shout out to Esther who knew without a doubt before I even finished the sentence "I love Tamlin and w and will never EVER like Rhysand reading book one, KNEW I would change my mind when I read this book. Lol

Thursday, January 11, 2018

Thoughtful Thursday

Good afternoon everyone. I'm sorry I haven't been around much, I have had so much going on with the loss of a family member and life just kicking me while I am down.
I have had absolutely zero drive to do much of anything.
From reading, reviewing, Instagram, Facebook, etc.... It's like I will want to and attempt to but by the time I get right there, I'm exhausted.

How the hell do people manage though all this and still able to post daily and sometimes multiple times a day. I envy you!!!

So to help me get back in the roll, does anyone have any tags or topics to write on?

I know I should read and review
**SIDE NOTE: I am SO SO SO sorry to those who have asked me to read and review their books. With everything going on, I've honestly been to depressed to read, much less review. I don't want my personal emotions to interfere with the book. I'm going to be taking a small break from just requested reads but I promise I WILL GET TO THEM! I PROMISE!!! If you have any questions or thoughts, feel free to email me and I will update you.**

Right now, I am slowly but surely making my way through ACOMAF, it's kinda helping me get through this most jacked up feeling in the world. Hopefully by the time I am done I can get back to requested reads.

I miss reading. I just don't have the drive.

I'm so tired of depression. 

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

The Gnome Exchange Program: North Pole Rescue by Matt Caliri


Title: The Gnome Exchange Program: North Pole Rescue
Author: Matt Caliri
Pages: 261
Published: October 10th 2017
Publisher: Sweetwater Books
Genre: Young Adult/Middle Grade/Fantasy
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

There's only one person who can save Christmas this year, and it's not Santa Clause. This year the fate of everyone's favorite holiday rests solely in the hands of a twelve-year-old gnome named Geronimo. Luckily, Geronimo is no ordinary gnome. With his wits and daring, he should have absolutely no trouble tracking down the evil Krampus and bringing him back to the North Pole. . . 

My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for a honest review.

The problem, Dad," he said. "is that good always wins. You're going to lose this battle.

You have no idea how thankful I am that I got to read this book! 
It was so stinkin' cute! 
Okay, some of the characters really ... really ... really got on my nerves. Yet in the long run, they ended up wiggling their way into my heart. Lol

It's really no secret that I have a crazy obsession with Krampus. Weird, I know, but I do. Anyone who knows me knows I watch the movie Krampus all year around, nearly daily. 
So when I read the blurb and it mentioned "Santa's brother" I honestly thought "no way! This book looks way to cute to involve Krampus!" I was wrong. Not only was I wrong, I had such a stuck image of him in my head that when I read Matt's description, my jaw dropped and I couldn't help but chuckle and think "this is going to be awesome." Haha I was right though. It really was awesome. 

There was such a mix of characters that it will amaze you. I'm so use to books only offering 2 or 3 types of characters. But in The Gnome Exchange Program you have gnomes, elves, unicorns, invisible goats, humans, Guinea Pigs! lol so much more. 

Okay so it wasn't ALL cute. Don't get your knickers in a twist thinking it was all fluff and buttercup. Krampus is creepy as *bleep* so of course it can't be all butterbeer and pumkinjuice. Lol

This book was hard to quit. What I mean by that is I could have finished this all in a single day. But I wanted it to last as long as possible so when I could, I forced myself to put this book down. I knew if I read it all at once, I would be heartbroken in the end because it would be over so fast. Guess what! Still heartbroke. I NEED MORE! Lol

Now, I see what you're thinking. But Ash, you loved it so much yet you only gave it four stars.
Ehh yeah. Mainly because I wanted more Krampus and for him to eat everyone. 
I'm. Totally. Kidding. 
But really though, some of it felt really rushed. Around the time the Guinea pigs were introduced it got a bit blurry because there were so many and they were hard to keep up with. I still don't know who is who. :/
And it tended to jump a bit. Maybe I was reading to fast or something, that could be it. But it had some huge leaps that left me going "wait. What just happened and how did you get there aaaaand who are you again?" The ending left me with a lot of questions as well. If they went back in time to return her to a few hours after she was taken, how is it the little boy could remember how long she had been gone (I know the calendar; but wouldn't he forget why he marked those days?) and why was Krampus going to where he was going. What does he have up his tattered sleeves?

I need to know! I need more! Lol

Sunday, November 5, 2017

{Wrap-Up} Pumpkin Spice Style

Yo-ho and hello there! It's your one and only FearStreetZombie coming to you not-so-live from her living room with her Frankensweenie laptop. Lol Don't ask, I will fill you in later if you are really interested in that story.

Now for what you've all been waiting for - and is coming to you oh so late!

My October Wrap Up!
Better late than never, right?

Mary: The Summoning by Hillary Monahan
Review can be found: Here
Rating: 3 Stars

I liked it mainly because it fed my Bloody Mary obsession. It was the perfect "Halloween" read. While I did have a few issues with it, I still ended up buying book two. Which is still in my to-be-read pile. Whoops! lol

Hotel for the Lost (Hotel Ruby) by Suzanne Young
Review can be found: Here
Rating: 3 Stars

The Shining meets Ghost Ship meets Rose Red.
That's a mouthful huh? Lol but that's what it reminded me of. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't all that great either. I had really expected more of it and it left me with a lot more questions than answers. Would I say not read it? NO! By all means, read it. It really was a good book. The ending just lacked for me. 

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Mass
Review can be found: Here
Rating: 5 Stars

I know what you are thinking! "You're just now reading this?!" Well... yeah... pretty much. I got it around the time it came out but it stayed on my to-be-read list for a while. Least until it got semi-popular. Then I tried to read it two or three times and just couldn't get into it.. I'm guessing because the first time was on kindle. The second time was audiotape. But the third time (the charm) was my paperback. I had to skip to chapter five to get into it, but man oh man! chapter five and on, I was HOOKED! I can see why everyone is obsessed with this series. Once I finished it, I automatically ordered book two. Which is on my To-be-read list at the moment. Don't shoot me, I will get to it. Lol. I still need book three.

State of Emergency by Mary Hallberg
Review can be found: Here
Rating: 4 stars

Oh my gosh I loved this book! Zombies and New Orleans! Instant win for me! I was so happy the author asked me to review this book. Especially since it was zombies and New Orleans lol but what really drew me in was the blurb said Dallas defended herself with a freaking pizza cutter. I was like "well heck yeah, count me in. I gotta see how that happens!" (Thinking it was one of those home round pizza cutters - of course it wasn't though. Lol But the book was still AWESOME!!

The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich
Review can be found: Here
Rating: 3 stars

This book broke my heart. Not because it was sad or anything, just because it was really a let down for me. I expected so much more from it. I have never read anything like this book in my life and it was so awesome. It kept me reading from start to finish. I couldn't put it down but the closer and closer I got to the end, I just knew ...just knew... it wouldn't be what I expected or wanted. It left me with so many questions. I wanted to love this book so much but the ending.... the ending. Yet I don't regret the read because I still liked it and would recommend it. Weird, right?

Drops of Sunshine by Tricia Copeland
Review can be found: Here
Rating: 4 stars

The setting of this book was such a rare read that in that alone earns it many stars. I really loved the characters and the story. There is so much I would love to say about this book but because it was a really short read, I can't say anything for fear of giving to much away. Lol but I will say this. If you have a chance to read it, you should. 

Simply, Jane by Randal Licato
Review can be found: Here

I took this book to heart. I have read a lot of Randal's books and love every one of them. But this one. Oh gosh. This one holds my heart between it's pages. My struggles are written on these pages. My battles are alive in these pages. While I relate to every page of this book, I am sure everyone will too. While our endings may be different, I am sure we can all relate to the battle written. This was such a beautiful story I wish everyone would read. If you get a chance, please please please read it! Also, there may be a upcoming giveaway for this book so keep your eyes out for it! I'll keep you posted!
~For more, please read my review.
November Upcoming Reads

I have actually already finished two books: Kingdom of Embers by Tricia Copeland and Chromosomes by Ashleigh Reynolds. Both were really good reads and my reviews can be found a little father down my blog. Check them out!

I'm not sure what else I will read this month in all honesty. I will probably finish Tricia Copeland's last two books (Kingdom of Embers was book one) I also really want to finish "How to Find Love In a Bookshop" I started it and it just seems so magical. Starts off sad yet keeps you with a dreamy look in your eyes. I can't wait to finish it. I hope it stays this way. Last but not least, I hope to get to Mist and Fury lol if I don't, don't hate me. It's hard to read lately because I have so much going on and I'm hitting a book slump. Seems to always happen after you're on a roll "slaying one book at a time" lol. I guess it's because you read of some many amazing places and then you look up and realize your stuck in your own world where magical things never happen..... Unless you are rich and live in Disneyland. Haha.

If I could have a power, I would be able to book-jump. Leave this world behind for better places and I could jump into any and all books at will. Lol

What would your power be? What book places do you plan to dive into this month?

Wednesday, November 1, 2017

Chromosomes by Ashleigh Reynolds


Title: Chromosomes
Author: Ashleigh Reynolds
Pages: 209
Published: June 2017
Publisher: Legendary Books
Genre: Young Adult/Supernatural
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

Sweet freedom lasted half a day.
Emma Hill longed for the day when she would be free to live her life. Free from the endless cycle of foster homes. Free from the life that defined her for twelve years. She had a lot of ideas about her new start. None of them involved being the prisoner of a mad scientist.
Emma is kidnapped on her eighteenth birthday and brought to a facility that is run by a man hell-bent on creating monsters. She is thrown together with one of his creations, a young man that is equal parts terrifying and intriguing.
Together, they escape, seeking refuge in a desolate town. But her companion isn’t the only thing that goes bump in the night, and the person running the facility will do anything to get them back.

My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for a honest review.

Chromosomes was a really quick and interesting read. 

I really don't think I have read anything quiet like this before. The story line kept me completely sucked in on the edge of my seat. 

The only thing I wasn't to big on was the stockholm syndrome. I try not to use that term because I know when you go through a traumatic experience you tend to bond completely with the person you went through it with. Buuuuut I can't not use it this time because first she was kidnapped then she was stuck with a guy who dang near killed her every time he got mad and still, she fell for him. 

That being said, while I wasn't a fan of that, I really did enjoy the book. Though short, still managed to keep me entertained and made me fall in love with the characters. Seven might have worked my nerves, in the end. He grew on me. Lol

I wanted more to that ending! Lol It was so bittersweet! I LOVED IT!

Kingdom of Embers (Kingdom Journals #1) by Tricia Copeland

Title: Kingdom of Embers
Series: Kingdom Journals #1
Author: Tricia Copeland
Pages: 316
Published: February 2nd 2017
Publisher: True Bird Publishing LLC
Genre: Young Adult/Paranormal/Witches/Vampires
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

As a creature forbidden by both vampire and witch cultures, Alena traverses the country with her mother in search of an unknown entity. When Alena finds Hunter everything changes. Their bond may be the key to answers Alena seeks. As she investigates the connection, an equally handsome, but mysterious suitor appears. Will the truth be uncovered before it is too late? Or will her Mother’s kingdom be reduced to embers?

My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for a honest review.

Tricia Copeland is a lull master. Not in a bad way either but in a sense if calm and then literally you blink and all hell has broke loose. Lol

I loved this book. More than I thought I would to be honest because Alena was good. But almost too good. You know the kind,the ones we all roll our eyes at and just "ugh". Lol
But there is more than meets the eye with Alena...and you really don't want to mess with her. If you do, it's your funeral.

Kingdom of Embers starts off kinda slow, that's where that peaceful lull comes in. But it's not boring. Its a perfect balance that keeps you wondering what danger lurks just around the corner.

The only thing I wasn't fond of were the jumps between a lot of chapters. I felt like those were rushed and it left me wanting more from it. Want to know what happened to those days or so in between.

Other than that, this book was so awesome. 

I loved all the character and of course my favorite character would *cough*die*cough* 
*sits in my corner sobbing*

But really though that ending blew me away. I HAVE TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT!!!!

But can we talk about the mom for a moment? Why is so she ominous? There is a story there and I want to know it. And just WHO is Alena's dad?

Ugh I have so many questions!

Monday, October 30, 2017

Simply Jane by Randal Licato


Title: Simply Jane
Author: Randal Licato
Pages: 134
Published: 2017
Genre: Young Adult/Faith
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads

Jane lives on the brink of her imagination, where all her sorrows and joy collide in a secluded, mountainous place called, The Life Center.
Escaping her life would be an easy dream to have, if the Shadow Man would just let her go.

My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for a honest review.

"I've been there too, but no matter what you feel or not, don't listen to the lies, for in that room, the truth is skewed to keep you lost. We all break at times, but that brokenness doesn't have to define you. We all get confused or lose hope, but even during those times, your heart is still worth being here."

Simply, Jane is such a inspirational, powerful and memorizing read.

This review is not easy to write because there are just to many things to say that I feel like my brain may backfire trying to put it all into words.

This book was so powerful! I was crying from chapter one to the very end. Not because it's sad but because it was like Randal Licato cracked open my head and made his way into my soul and found all the dark places that my fake smiles hide to show me that God is here. He is helping me even if I don't see him...

Simply Jane was wonderfully written and from the start will keep you swimming through the pages, to where you don't want to lift your eyes even for a second.

I know I keep using the words "powerful" "memorizing" and "wonderful" a lot but that is because it really is.

I wish everyone in the world would take the time to read this book. Men and women. Everyone is Jane. Read this book and I'll bet you will relate to Jane. Our stories may be different but that dark place is all the same in all of us.

This book will open a lot of eyes and hearts.

Personal Note
Personally, I cried because I'm in that dark space. I can't tell you how many times I've cried wishing God would appear and talk to me like in the books I've read.

I know people say God is always with you, read the Bible, He'll talk to you. But the Bible is hard to read for a lot of people. And we are 100% human. We might read it a million times and think "okay, God wants me to do this" but because we are human, we make mistakes. And we always have that self doubt voice talking 24/7. It'd be kinda nice if God had some one on one chats with us. Lol

I cried because this book shows hope. It shows I won't be in this dark place forever as long as I keep going. It shows I'm not alone and that battle going on within me isn't me just going crazy. It's real. And exhausting.

The part in chapter one when she's laying there and God says "Dear, lovely Jane, your heart is worthy to be known. [...]" had me squalling. It hit home. Like maybe God DOES care. That the lies the whispers I hear are just that.... Lies.

On page 89....had me sobbing with the realization that yeah, we take our hits but God takes more hits than we do. He protects us.

Page 90" I don't want to end my life; I just want to escape. " is the story if my life. Through and through.

This book is powerful. Extremely powerful.

Thursday, October 26, 2017

Drops of Sunshine by Tricia Copeland


Title: Drops of Sunshine
Author: Tricia Copeland
Pages: 130
Published: July 13th 2015
Publisher: true bird publishing llc
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

With a job as a camp counselor, sixteen-year-old Nina heads to the wilderness for summer break. With her year all she wants is an escape. But some special kids can hear her thoughts and she can't hide her head in the sand like she planned. Can Nina come to terms with all her swirling emotions? Sometimes all it takes is a drop of sunshine!

My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for a honest review.

This was such a rare read for me.
I admit, I've read tons of YA books-all kinds
But nothing like this before.

I mean, sure it has the typical teenage love interest and drama.

But the camp for the blind/deaf/etc isn't really something you read about. Especially with such detail. It was beautiful to read about and I loved how they all seemed "magical" because they knew things they shouldn't. They were adorable. "down with purple!" lol

This was a warm read. You know that trusty blanket everyone has? The one you can use year round and it never get to cold or to hot in it becauae it is just perfect and it's... Well... Your favorite. Lol that's what this book is. A warm blanket.

I loved the main character of this book. She is so young but is more mature than the adults she works with. That is so rare. Lol. And kinda sad. It's sad they let that bathroom incident happen to her and did nothing to help. It makes me so mad but I guess that's what makes this real. Because it happens to women every single day. It's heart breaking.

I'm glad that in the long run he got in trouble. Sadly it was like a slap on the wrist though. Ugh!!!

Other than that idiot, I lived this book. It was a quick read that makes you dive and swim through it.