Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Something (Wisteria 1) by Shelby Lamb

Synopsis
“I will find true love and everything will be okay. I will find true love and everything will be okay…” she chanted.
They say be careful what you read. Something is wrong. Something is very wrong. It can happen to anyone. This is just four teenagers’ story. Aubrey Golding hates her face, her body, and is devastated after Nathan Silva leaves her. Alone, suicidal, and desperate for love, she discovers a book called Something and unknowingly links others to a dark and terrifying curse that is beginning to consume her. Nathan is glad to be moving on with someone new and can hardly believe what is happening now. Wild child and amateur porn star, Bella Broadhurst, loves bullying that “emo whore” Aubrey with the other girls, but mostly she loves partying, hookups, and plain ol’ drama when terror arises. And Kendra Coke is just a new teen mother working on a delicate relationship when things start becoming utterly bizarre. Chilling sleep disturbances and figures hiding in the corners of their rooms are just warnings of what is to come. Be careful what you read, they say. Tread carefully.


My Thoughts
★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
DNF at 52%.

I tried so hard to like this book and try to get into it. I really did. I kept waiting for this book to get better and for SOMETHING to happen... but you can only take so much, right?

Right off the bat you are stated off on like 4 characters introduced way to fast that it makes your head spin and while you are trying to separate them and get a feeling of who they are, more characters keep coming in and you are overloaded on details that really are unnecessary because you can clearly tell it is a side character. 
Even at 52%, I know the characters but have to sit here and think "this is who this is, no.. wait... that was the pregnant one... I think?

That just takes away from the book for me because I spend was to much time trying to remember who is who.

And all of the characters seem the same to me. They all sound like 12 year olds boohooing over life that hasn't even started for them. I get teen angst, I do. We have all been there before but this .... really just makes you want to drown them to not only end their suffering, but yours as well, anything to just shut them up. And when I say they all sound the same, I mean I see barely a difference in personality. They all seem to hate each other, why? No idea. I don't think it even tells you. 

It's a never ending drama-fest. Which also takes away from the book IMO. It just seems like to much. You need to mix it up and have a few jokes or something in there otherwise I don't think anyone can really enjoy the story.... The reader will just stay tense all the time.


And I have to say I am sorry I had to stop reading, but the deal breaker was the line "Nathan went first, without saying goodbye, something that caused her great Jesus-on-the-cross type of pain."
You might feel a lot of pain in your life, but you will never know Jesus's pain. He went through that so you didn't have to. 
That is just my thoughts though. I'm sure a lot of people will disagree with me, but to each their own.

Thursday, August 4, 2016

In Another Life by Carys Jones

Synopsis

Pans Labyrinth meets Once Upon A Time in this fantasy thriller from Carys Jones
Returning home one weekend Marie Schneider’s life changes forever when her car collides with a lorry on the motorway and she is left fighting for her life. Whilst in a coma, Marie awakens in the fantastical world of Azriel which appears to be right out of the pages of a Fairy Tale book. Here, Marie learns that she is their long lost Princess North, and that Azriel is where she truly belongs.
When Marie eventually wakes from her coma her thoughts of Azriel are still very present in her mind and she struggles to adjust to her 'normal' life. Everyone around her insists that Azriel is just a figment of her imagination but as she tries to recover from her wounds people start approaching her on the street, insisting that Azriel needs her and that she must return there at once.
Confused, Marie tries to discover which reality is the right one. Could she truly be a long lost princess from another world or is she just losing her mind? As the world of Azriel starts to creep in to her current life it gets harder for her to ignore that perhaps she really is Azriel's Princess after all...


My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
Move over John Green, Carys Jones is coming through!
I found this book very interesting, but when it said "Pans Labyrinth meets Once Upon A Time" I honestly didn't see that... But that is a different story. Lol
I am trying to write this review with no spoilers, but I have noooo idea how! lol
In Another Life was very well written and kept me wondering what would happen next. 
Just when I thought I knew what was going to happen, something happened that completely threw me off. It really kept you guessing wondering what was real and what wasn't.

That ending really killed me though. I wasn't expecting that and I cried like a baby.


I liked Marie, but the rest of the characters really ticked me off. I thought her parents were over pushy. They wanted her to be better, I get that, but the second she was out of the hospital they wanted her to be better then and there. And sorry, but it doesn't work like that. And okaying the reporter to come without even asking her first really made me mad at her mama.
Sebastian ... is just crap. I hated him with a passion. It seemed like every time he did something douchy, "I love you" was brought up. Reminds me of one of those abusive relationships. He wasn't abusive or anything, he was just a super jerk and not supportive at all. 
All in all, it was a really good book and I would recommend it. 

Friday, July 29, 2016

YES, I NAMED MY DAUGHTER GAYLORD FOCKER. SO FOCKING WHAT!: (OVER 1,000 REAL NAMES OF REAL PEOPLE, ALL WEIRD) by Joseph Joel

Synopsis

This book is unusual because it is real. But, it may be the world’s first unbook. There is little narration. It is a book of lists. There are few bona fide jokes unless you think that it is funny for a parent to name her kid, “Martina Moron.”
Now, consider this information:
Outraged customer ahead of me in a store. Unreasonable business associate. Nothing that a good chuckle can’t cure.
If you pay attention, you can learn a lot about people. Some of it is obvious. Some of it is bizarre.
Now, about the obvious: Everybody has a name, and everybody can relate to names. As a person who talks but especially listens a lot, I run into unusual and quirky names often. Santa Claus, Jesus Christ, Candy Cane, and Fruity McGill are among the people with odd names that I have met.
No way? Have you ever checked out the tattoos that people have? Each and every one them says something interesting and/or strange about that individual. Why can’t a name have the same purpose?
Anyway, this book has taken most of my life to write. I have written down the person’s name and verified it later. No name has been incorrectly reported in my fierce quest for accuracy.
I have learned that there is not a person alive who does not have or know somebody with a name that is atypical or weird. The waitress at my favorite diner is sure to remind me that her name is “Bippie,” and if I get it wrong and call her “Mippie” or “Blimpie,” I may find a fake fingernail in my lentil soup. Not really. She always does a professional job!
I met this wonderful woman named “Luna.” Her whole life, she was tormented by this first name. But worse, she hated that she was not given a middle name. While growing up, she would pin imaginary middle names on her bedroom curtain quite often. And, when she turned 21, she legally gave herself the middle name of “Delight.”
Now, the pronunciations may not be what some people might expect, but the spelling is what matters. For instance, “Moron” may have a Spanish or even a French pronunciation that we would not initially expect which is better than the “I am a dumbass” related pronunciation. But, the spelling is the same.
A part of the inspiration for the book is a custom-made license plate that I saw while walking on a lonely street in a city where I resided at the time. It said, “MORON.” Is that how that person wanted to be labeled and known? What was the thinking behind giving one’s car, and hence oneself, such a name? Or, was thinking even possible in this case? I, on the other hand, do not want to look stupid. Silly, outrageous, sarcastic, thorough, and funny are much more my style.
And, it was not long ago that I found a sign outside of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania that said “Shit Creek.” Does anybody want to go fishing?
Now, what inspired this whole book even more, however, is my love of movies. I saw Meet the Parents, in which the main character, played by Ben Stiller, is named “Gaylord Focker.” I learned that Jim Carrey came up with this name only for one of the producers to come to believe that there actually are three Gaylord Fockers in America, or at least this notion is what he believed. (I do not think that he researched this suspicion well.) In fact, the producer was wrong, or at least, I see no evidence of it. Nobody really has or had that name in real life. Everybody makes mistakes, even producers of hilarious movies. He will remain nameless. It is only fair. Ha ha!
Anyway, it was just too much──the combination of the name "Gaylord Focker” and seeing bizarre names on an infrequent basis in my social life and business life──that propelled me into the huge research project that evolved into this delightful, irreverent, and funny, but even somewhat educational, book. Not too educational, however. Let’s be real. This book is the paper or computer wire version of the fart. It is nothing groundbreaking, brilliant, or special. It doesn’t even smell good.
Still, you can believe me: you will see people in a different light



My Thoughts
★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
It was a short read. I'll give it that and only that.

I think this book was written in bad taste. I know it was meant to be a funny thing, but to me it wasn't. I think it was cruel. I knew it would be a list of names, but I also kinda hoped that maybe it was people he had actually met. Not ones he came across at random or online. 

There are quiet a few well known names, like my favorites, Forest Gump and Clark Kent..... Why were their names on this list? I find no humor in them unless you are going by Forest's movie. Even then, it's not all that funny. A man who didn't let his disabilities stop him from experiencing and loving life. 
Clark Kent, Superman, a HERO. 
I wonder how many other's are on this list who are actual heros. Not just heros in books, but actually war heros.... The thought of that actually makes me angry.

What also makes me angry is if Joseph Joel knew my last name, or even my friend's last name, I KNOW me and her both would be on that list. Why wouldn't they be? They are both a target on our back since the first days of school. *smh* 

The more I read, the more I realized I really really really didn't like this "book" and saw how cruel it was and realized that this is just a "book" making fun of people. What's next? A book of "funny" stories about people's disabilities?

I had high hopes that this book would give me a laugh. It didn't. It left me angry and disappointed.

Friday, July 15, 2016

Summoning the Demon by Kelly D. Smith

Synopsis

Alyssa doesn’t like to ask for help, but when fighting zombies, sometimes a witch needs a little backup. So she summons a demon. Falan Farrelly, demon. Alyssa wouldn’t have survived the night without him, but is that the only reason she wants to summon him again?
Falan isn’t used to chasing imps out of old lady’s yards or getting rid of demons, but there is something about this witch that makes him unable to resist.





My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
I am SO ashamed it took me this long to read a 15 page book! Good Lord, I should be shot (not really, please.)
I did start this book about a month ago, I think.... Though it may have actually been a lot longer because so much has been going on that all my books I need to read are scattered everywhere but that is beside the point.
This book scared the hell out of me. (haha nice pun) I'm so into this book then BAM the summoning scene (the first one) ... I don't know what it is or what but it gave me nightmares for literally WEEKS. I could not pick this book up again because I would shudder and feel so uneasy about it. 

But I really owed it to the author to finish the book because she is awesome and she deserves a review. 

So all terror aside, there was a part in the book:
"Oh, I'm fine. Do you have the time to deal with those imps for me?" It had taken her a long time to come to terms with the fact that there were imps in her yard. She'd believed it the second I said it, had even gone on a rant about how they were the spawns of Hell. I didn't have the heart to tell her what they actually were. 

See what I mean? Alyssa says it had taken Rose a long time to come to terms that imps were in her yard, but yet then says the old lady believed her as soon as she told her. Also "It had taken her a long time to come to terms with the fact there were imps in her yard" then at the end of the paragraph says that she didn't have the heart to tell her what they really were...... but..... that is what they are. IMPS...... and to be fair the old lady was right, they are the spawns of Hell because they are also known as Satan's foot soldiers. 


I felt guilt ride up. I always hated this part. They looked so cute. 
Honestly, I always thought IMPs looked like this (lol) :



That being said, I think the story was great! It was a very interesting story line and keeps you sucked in and interested. Even after that time I wasn't reading it, it was still on my mind wondering what happens next. The writing is so awesome that it really feels like you are there and living that moment. Kelly is awesome at setting the scenes. That is not a easy thing to do but she managed to own it like a boss. lol

Monday, July 11, 2016

Candlelight by Stacy McWilliams

Synopsis
Life was full of nothing but darkness for Nathan Stevenson until Jasmine appeared in his life. She brought his innermost desires to the surface. She burned her way through to his heart to become embedded in his soul. He knew she was dangerous but would she break down his wall as he dreamed of her touch and fought against the impulse to protect her?Would their love be enough to defeat his demons? Was he strong enough to resist her or would her light burn irrevocably?




My Thoughts

★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
Oh my gah the urge to punch everyone in the throat is so freaking strong!

I loved loved loved this book and am so glad it was written! It is awesome to see more into Nate's life and wonder why he is such a bipolar blue waffle douchenozzle
Yet still leaves just enough space to make me want to stomp his balls into a mud puddle.


I really think this book should be read first before the others because I can almost guarantee if you read Luminosity first, you won't want to finish the series. At least this one opens the air a bit so you won't be so closed off.

What I really don't get is .... why Nate is all "human-y" when his sister does pretty much the same thing as he does. I don't know. It just works my nerve that all these get away with everything but if Nate farts crooked, his psychotic whore of a mother (Inner monologue: *gasps* that's not nice! Yeah, well, she is a demon. She is not nice either.) goes utterly and nonstop psycho. It is ridiculous. 

The main thing I was not to fond of was the overuse of the word "fuck". After a while, it seemed to actually take away from the story for me.

Ya know... I have dissed most of Nate's family but I haven't really said anything about the nutcase that calls himself a father.... Whoa. I mean, really. Wow. 

He HAD to be a hard character to write....Or maybe Stacy is just releasing her inner Satan. LOL!! but really. I don't get this man. It is so horrible to act "human"? whaaaaat?!

But yet he does human things every day. Job, Family, Providing for said family....At one point even told Nate to take up running to be kinda a coping thing to clear his head, but mother dearest gets a bug up her butt and suddenly daddy dearest and her both beat his brains in because he is to "human"? yeahhhhhh okay, whatever.

I still liked this book though and can't wait for the next book!

Tuesday, July 5, 2016

(Personal Post) RIP Nick

People keep asking me how I am doing... and for once, I am telling the truth. Im not okay and I dont think I will every be okay. This is hitting me just as hard as when I lost my mama. I lost touch with my cousin but we were still close.

I keep trying to make sense of all this, and I honestly cant. I cant stop asking why....Why him?

I cant help but to wonder if great musicains are cursed because it seems like all the great ones are taken from us way to early.


I miss Nick so much. He was my cousin and friend. I remember us and his brother playing in a dirt pile behind my aunts house. I remember us running through her garden as well where her corn stalks were..... Boooooooy, we got in trouble for that because we broke some of her stalks.
I remember our childhood swing that we all took turns on.
I remember my first time hunting with them..... I will never forget it.
It was horrible yet hilarious. From a sticker wacking me in the cheek and me screaming "Its in my eye!!" (managing to scare off everything to hunt) from wild horses cornering us and my aunt being scared out of her wits but me, Nick, and Jake just laughed. We bout died laughing when she picked up a big stick and started going "YA! YA! YA!" and the horses just looking at her like "is she serious?"
There are so many memries and not enough space on here to share them all.


He was such a amazing person though, Funny and wise.... man, was he wise. He was a old soul and smart as a whip.

Nick, we all love you and we will miss you dearly. Please hug my mama and Aunt S for me, will ya?

Nick is on the right.

On that note, author friends who are needing reviews from me, I am sorry, but they may take longer than the deadline. I need a break for a few days.....


Ignition by Stacy McWilliams

Synopsis

Ignition is book two in the Escaping Demons Saga and see's Nathan and Jasmine fight for their lives and to remain together.
Life has never been Easy for Jasmine Johnstone, but failing for Nathan Stevenson brings a whole new level of difficulty. He is sworn to kill her, and fights against his love for her more than ever, but he knows he can't live without her.
As they run from monsters, and each other, can their love survive?
Time begins to run out and with new friends and enemies in the strangest places, will they learn who to trust in time?
With their love stronger than ever, but forces pulling them apart, is love enough to keep them together or will Nathan's parents win and pull them apart?


My Thoughts
★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.

What the what!!!!
What kind of ending was that?!?!
It is amazing how much a book can piss you off so bad but keep you so drawn in that you NEED to know what happens next.
I'm still not sold on Nate. I still really hate him and think he is a big giant wussy. Now Jas on the other hand, I am really starting to like her. She is FINALLY stepping up. Took her freaking long enough. -_- I wonder if I am the only one who sees Claire Holt playing her though...

I honestly have no idea what I can really say about this book. It answered some questions but left me with so many more questions. Like, where did her powers come from? Who half of the characters were because they seemed to pop up out of nowhere but the main characters knew, them, which makes me think they were around at some point, but I just do not remember them :(

I expected more from this book. I liked it, don't get me wrong, but there just seemed to be something missing and I wanted the fight scenes to be more, they seemed to fall kinda flat.

When Lisa found out her big news, I won't lie, I was sad that we couldn't experience her excitement with her the second she found out, we had to find out later about it.

I can't wait for the next book. I need it and I need it now!!!

Thursday, June 30, 2016

Luminosity (Escaping Demons Saga) by Stacy McWilliams

Synopsis

Jasmine Johnstone's life was relatively normal until she was forced to live with the Stevenson family. As she stayed she found she had no choice but to battle mythical creatures. Strengths she never knew she possessed began to surface, surprising those around her. Her only chance of surviving the rising tide of evil was Nathan Stevenson. Could she really trust him as he fought against his love for her? With the world against them and time running out, would their love be enough to defeat demons?




My Thoughts
★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
I wanted to rate this book more than 3 stars. I really did. But there is just something about it. It just kept me so angry that I truly and honestly couldn't enjoy this book.
I can not for the life of me understand why she would put up with abuse from these people. Why wouldn't she fight back? She says so many times that she is going to fight back, and literally right after she says that, she ends up with a fist in her face.
.....It also left me with a lot more questions than answers. For example, why the social worker didn't see what was going on (unless she must have been one of the demons) or ...and I know this question is going to be really stupid, but... how is she getting money to buy things when she doesn't have a after school job and the family hates her.
And then there is her power of throwing a guy off her to the point he flies through the air.... wheeeeeere did that come from? O.o

I wanted to enjoy the book so much, and it kept me sucked in where I didn't want to put it down, but for the sake of my health and not flying off the handle and breaking my kindle, I had to put it down quite a lot. And even when I finished it, i had to sleep a while before I could even put my thoughts together.......yet they are still scattered. lol

I like the MC, I do. I want to see her grow. I want to see her fight back. I want so much for her, I really really really hope she doesn't keep letting bad things happen to her, I hope she kicks her demon guy to the curb and drowns him in Holy Water. 
I doubt that will happen though. Poor girl is on a one way trip to hell to satisfy a scummy demon. :(

Saturday, June 18, 2016

Delivered by Angels (Entertaining Angels, #3) by Emerald Barnes

Synopsis

Determined to escape her abusive father and drunken mother, Lexi Johnson turns to the blade to numb her pain, but it isn’t enough to end her misery. She’s convinced that not even God could save her now.
Roxy Taylor is the new girl in town, and Lexi doesn’t trust her, especially when she teams up with DJ Tucker to try and break down the barriers that Lexi has put in place.
Little does Lexi know, there are greater forces battling for her life, and as Lexi begins to open up to both Roxy and DJ, she’ll see that she isn’t alone in this world.
In the heart-pounding sequel to Entertaining Angels, everyone’s favorite angel, Zach Taylor, is back, and he’s there to make sure that Madison and Chase Sanders are on the path that God has chosen for them, a path that could deliver Lexi from the demons who want her soul.


My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
Emerald Barnes has done it again! How she isn't THE number one best author everywhere, I have no idea. We need to make that happen. Lol
Anywho, this book was so so so so amazing... Well, amazing doesn't cover this book and right now I honestly can't think of a word to cover it other than astounding in all the best ways.
This book made me cry so much but also gave me such hope. I remember being this girl when I was a teenager. Yeah, our lives were different, but our cutting battles were the same.
I loved that she kept Mads and Chase in the loop and kept us updated on them, but I'm also in love with these new characters.

I liked Roxy, but sadly, I didn't LOVE her. I mean, I know it's new being "human" but... it's kinda like ... I'm not even sure how to explain her... hard? Hard, I suppose. like she knew she needed to do this, but she didn't really know and it just made her so mad. I don't know. maybe I'm just use to Zach, he took being human much better than Lexi. Lol

Once again in the battle to save ones soul, I was in awe over this story. How a story can be so different, even though you know the outcome, it still just melts your heart and keeps you on your toes, gasping in awe and fear when something happens.
I'm so thankful for these books because even though I had this problem as a teen, doesn't mean my demons have gone away. They are still here and they still talk, but this book shows me that no matter what, God is still here and He still loves me and He wants me to keep fighting and I'm not fighting alone.

I really would recommend this series to everyone.

Ghostgirl (Ghostgirl #1) by Tonya Hurley

Synopsis

Now I lay me down to sleep,
I pray the Lord my soul to keep.
And if I should die before I awake,
I pray the popular attend my wake.


Charlotte Usher feels practically invisible at school, and then one day she really is invisible. Even worse: she's dead. And all because she choked on a gummy bear. But being dead doesn't stop Charlotte from wanting to be popular; it just makes her more creative about achieving her goal.
If you thought high school was a matter of life or death, wait till you see just how true that is. In this satirical, yet heartfelt novel, Hurley explores the invisibility we all feel at some times and the lengths we'll go to be seen.


My Thoughts
★★ Disappointing Stars
*cricket noises*
What the what?!
My heart is shattering right now. Seriously. Don't be taken in by this lovely, amazing, and wonderful cover! It's all a ruse! Ugh I could cry, this book was such a let down! I mean wow.... I wanted to love this book, I really did... and I tried so hard to love it, but I just couldn't!
All Charlotte wanted was to be miss popular, get the guy, and have the world revolve around her. Long story short, she wanted to be Petula. But yet Petula is such this horrible character that everyone hates, how is she no different than Charlotte? She wants everything Petula has, even though it doesn't come flat out saying that, it's pretty much common sense there.

Speaking of Petula... Doesn't she remind you of someone..... here's a hint:

Along with her two minions and boy wonder! Is there really anything else to say here? I think not.

.....I think most of these characters were based around Mean Girls, I kid you not. It's just to much of a "coincidence"

I liked Scarlet though, she seemed pretty cool, but yet I didn't like her. So I guess you HAVE to be goth to like all black and rock stuff, huh? You can't just like that stuff and not have a label. Yeah, okay, whatever. And I guess because she is a "goth" she has to instantly accept ghosts without so much as a freak out?....Riiiiiiight. Okay. Yeah, no. Then there is the whole "You can use my body." .......Who does that?!

I just don't get this book. Other than Scarlet, no one really "stood up" against the bullies. They all just rolled over and took it. This book was flat. There was no building at all, not even in the characters in my opinion because you don't suddenly go from "me. me. me. I want. I want. I want." to looking in a mirror and suddenly go to "She should have this. This is hers."

I'm actually shocked ghostgirl was so long, considering it gave us such little to no information about the settings. Maybe something here and there about what it looked like, but most of the time, it was really nothing..... and I honestly wonder if I am the only one wondering about where the parents are through this whole book. :/
So disappointing. :(

Saturday, June 11, 2016

The Circlet Treasury of Erotic Wonderland by J. Blackmore

Synopsis

In this Circlet Treasury of Erotic Alice in Wonderland stories, you’ll find ten unique tales of erotic imagination based on the classic journey created by Lewis Carroll. Join us for a wild erotic ride through rabbit holes and chess boards, mirrors, and royal courts, as well as secrets in your own backyards.
In the first five stories, we visit Wonderland as grown-ups, able at last to face imagination as our full sexual selves, and reveling in it. In the last five, we face madness, despair, destruction and death.

But, always, always, wonder wins.

The stories brought together by editor J. Blackmore, the twisted mind behind several volumes of erotic steampunk, sexy Jane Austen, and steamy Sherlock Holmes, include these ten twists on Alice and Wonderland:

"Lily White" by Morwenna Drake
"A World of Her Own" by Alex Picchetti
"Tarts and Tea" by Holly Abair
"A Wasp, a Wig and a Wanton Woman" by Gary Westfahl
"Wonders Wild and New" by Verity Penvenen
"If This Be Not Love, It Is Madness" by Theresa Sand
"A Perfect Creature" by Bernie Mojzes
"Waking" by ADR Forte
"Midway Rides" by Alex Picchetti
"The Boiling Sea" by Angela Caperton


My Thoughts
★ Stars
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
Short and simple because I'm not wasting any more of my time for this book. 
There isn't much to say about this book other than it has got to be the most oddest, off the wall read that I have ever read. And honestly it made me uncomfortable and grossed out to read because of all the borderline bestiality junk. Ew.

***AGES 18 AND UP***

Thirty Days to Thirty by Courtney Psak


Synopsis

What if you were on the cusp of marrying the guy of your dreams and reaching that career goal you set for yourself, only for all of it to be taken away in one fell swoop? What if this all happened a month before you turned 30? This is the story of Jill Stevens, who after moving back home, finds a list she made in high school of thirty things she wanted to accomplish before her thirtieth birthday. With a month left and hardly anything crossed off her list, she teams up with old friends to accomplish as much as she can before the big 3-0. Along the way, she discovers her true self and realizes it’s not about the material successes in life but the journey.



My Thoughts
★★★ Stars
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
First off, I'm in love with this book cover. It's beautiful.
Now about the book. It was okay. It was actually a cute read. I though the storyline was pretty interesting because let's face it, we all have lists we want to do before we die but most of us never do it. Which is pretty sad. 
I'm glad she found her lost and was able to do everything on it. I'm glad she had family and friends to support, a lot of us don't have that.

As for the writing itself, it flowed pretty nice but at some times it kinda fell off and didn't keep much of my attention, but plowing through that, it picked up again.

The one thing I couldn't stand was the NEED for alcohol at everything she did. Sorry, not sorry, she comes off sounding like a alcoholic. Honestly the more i think about it, the main character must be a bit boring for her to have to have so much to just "open up" to have fun.
I wish more people would realize you don't have to drink to have a good time.....

Anywho, I give this book 3 stars.

Tuesday, June 7, 2016

The Boy with Words by C.E. Wilson

Synopsis

White Frost has only ever known the darkness. Everything outside of her closed society is The Unknown – a strange and dangerous place accessible to only a chosen few. White’s only glimpse of the world beyond comes from her beloved cousin in the form of mysterious collections of words that hint at astonishing wonders. When an accident upends her simple existence, she’s given an unlikely chance to see the truth for herself. What she finds is greater and more terrible than she could have imagined, and before long she is forced to make the most important choice of her life: does she accept her safe, limited world that she’s known or take a desperate gamble in a world not meant for her with the Boy with Words?


My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.

This book.
THIS BOOK.
THIS BOOK!!!!

I loved this book. :)

This was my first time every reading a book like this, so of course I can clearly state from my point of view.....WOW!...That was different and new. 

I really enjoyed this story, even though it took so long to read it. I just wanted to keep it going for as long as I possibly could, then of course, the inevitable....It got so freaking awesome I just couldn't put it down.
It's amazing you can love these characters then get so ticked off at them that you'd love to punch them in the face a couple of times.

I sad one had to die though. Who? I'm not telling but it was my favorite character.

But that tends to happen a lot.
I couldn't help having a love/hate feeling for White though. I know she wanted to be strong and stand on her two feet, but sheesh. At most points I just want to scream at her to shut the crap up and listen before she gets killed or heart broken. 
I really did like this book though and I would recommend it for those who are looking for something different.

The only thing I wish we could know more of though is.....What became of Salt and Pepper?
And the ending just left me kinda feeling weird.... and heart broken. I mean, it's a happy thing that happened but I couldn't help thinking "wait, that's it? That's not fair! I want more!" because honestly, I was hoping one or the other found a way to either "Get bigger" or the other smaller. I know that's crazy but you have to admit the ending raises questions of how they can have a normal relationship.
Ah the story feels complete yet not complete. I have never feel like this while reading a book! So I don't know how to handle this!  Lol

All I know is this book is awesome..... and I mean to the fact that I broke my own book code. I normally have two copies of books, one is autographed and the other is plain and free to write/highlight in...... this one was my only copy and it was autographed.... aaaaaaand I ended up highlighting in it. Because the quote was just to much to pass up! 

I really do recommend this book. 

Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Withering Rose (Once Upon a Curse #2) by Kaitlyn Davis

Synopsis

**A USA Today Recommended Series!**
What if Beauty was cursed, and the Beast was the only one who could save her? Don't miss WITHERING ROSE, a dystopian romance from bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis that reimagines the classic fairy tale of Beauty & The Beast.
"As the heat finally disappeared, I felt the bloom blossom in the very core of my soul, a rose just like my name--a ticking clock hidden behind a fa├žade of beauty. From that moment on, my life would become a countdown, and all I could do was wait and watch as the petals of time slowly started to fall."
Omorose Bouchene has a secret--magic. There's only one problem. At the age of seven, an earthquake struck, catapulting her into a new world. A land made of skyscrapers and cell phones. Fast cars and fluorescent lights. A land where magic isn't supposed to exist and anyone who wields it is the enemy.
But after ten years of hiding, she's desperate to find a place where she can be free. Because all magic comes with a curse, and her curse is time--every ounce of power she uses strips days off of her life. The clock is winding down, and the only option left is to escape to the realm of the Beast. But the king of monsters isn't what he seems. And the more Omorose opens her heart, the more she comes to realize that the only person she may need to fear is herself.
*This is the second book in Once Upon A Curse, a series of interconnected stand-alone novels all set in the same fantasy universe.


My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.

BUT IT COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER! *insert sobbing face here*

No, but really. I liked this book. I thought the writing was really great and the characters were awesome. COLE! *grabby hands* haha
I really enjoyed this story, I won't lie. I loved it! ... but it felt like something was missing. I'm not sure what, but it just felt incomplete. :(
Kaitlyn Davis is doing amazingly with these retellings so far. It's not that easy to retell stories that are popular and well loved. But she is doing awesome. Beauty and the Beast is truly my most favorite of all time, so maybe that's why I feel like it was lacking. Because, nothing could ever really top the original IMO. I think if someone has a all time favorite of anything, they will always want the original and even if they like the remake, they will still find something wrong with it.... because it's not the original. So maybe that's where my "incomplete" feeling is coming from.

But, I wouldn't want this story to change in any way. I love the story line and how everything fell together. That faerie though.... I want to bury my fist in her face. didn't expect her to be such a beeyotch. And that ending about killed me. So not fair to end it like that! GRRR!!!!
At 3am, I'm up, unable to sleep now because I'm wondering what may happen next. I NEED TO KNOW!!!

Thursday, May 19, 2016

Never Say Die: Stories of The Zombie Apocalypse by Stevie Kopas

Synopsis

Family, friends, lovers…
Those are just a few examples of the strong bonds that hold humanity together. But when the dead begin living, and the living start to die, who will remain connected, and who will be torn apart?
Never Say Die: Stories of The Zombie Apocalypse, explores how different relationships are put to the ultimate test when the end of the world comes crashing down around them.
Some will live, some will die, but one thing is for certain: Some bonds don’t break.
Jack: Years after the zombie outbreak decimates the population, Jack’s sister is mysteriously taken. Will he be able to find his sister, or better yet, once he finds her, will he be able to accept what she has become?
Gordon and Elena: The morning of an estranged couple’s divorce is about to get a lot more stressful when a mysterious illness turns out to be more dangerous than anyone expected. Will the two be able to set their differences aside before their journey’s end?
Patient 63: After a terrorist attack, civilization crumbles when a lab-created virus infects over half the world’s population. Dr. Henrick Kennedy has found the vaccine in his sixty-third patient, a former infected, but his intentions are anything but good. Graham, a lonely janitor, has fallen in love with the imprisoned Patient 63. But is love enough to save the world, or will love be the means to its end all over again? (Previously released in At Hell’s Gates, Volume 2: Origins of Evil)
Rosie: A little girl is given a vaccine to protect her from the impending zombie apocalypse, but when things don’t go as planned, Rosie and her mom must find a way to escape their home and make it to the evacuation zone alive. The human race may depend on it. 



My Thoughts
★★★★★++ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
Yasssss!!! More zombies from Stevie!!!

THIS IS A ZOMBIE LOVER MUST HAVE!!!!
We have a winner, folks! She has done it again! Stevie Kopas has done it again!
Another kill of be killed, heart stopping, mind numbing, bomb diggity, monster read!!!
You know, I often wonder how. or even if authors can top their previous work and it honestly always amazes me when they do. You think, there is no way they can top what they did, they pulled out all the stops, how can there possibly be more?..... only for you to find out there are about a million more stops that can possibly be pulled.... and that is exactly what Stevie did. Lol.
This book was bloody freaking brilliant and showed a whole NEW side to zombies!
Moooooove over Warm Bodies, Never Say Die is stealing the spot light.
Oh! Oh! Oh! Before you think "Ew, if it's like Warm Bodies, noooo thanks." .....Rethink that thought. Warm Bodies cowers to Never Say Die, Warm Bodies is Never Say Die's bitch!.... and Never Say Die *breathy-in-awe-voice* is the freaking shiznit!
I loved all of these short stories, they really leave you mind boggled.
I can't tell you how many times, all around the house, I had this book in front of my face randomly screaming "No freaking way!" "Oh you gotta be kidding me!" "Oh snap!" "Seriously?!" .... the list goes on and on, so I recommend not reading this in a public library.... You WILL be told to "shhh!"....and possibly asked to leave when you can't possibly keep the outbursts to yourself. Lol

I thought this book was very well written. Like this is the master of all writing, it was that good to me. I loved each and every story because they ALL offered such new, raw stuff! Even when SOME had the same kind of zombie, it was still new! How that was managed, I have no idea, because that is just plain awesome-sauce right there.
The story lines were new and mind blowing.... It always kept you on your toes wondering what would happen and when you guessed what could happen, it turned out wrong.
This book can make you so freaking grossed out to the point of your stomach turning, but wanting more and no possible way for you to put it down!
Oh why did they have to end so short though!? Lol

Saturday, April 30, 2016

Cutter Boy by Cristy Watson

Synopsis

Bullied at school and ignored at home, Travis has a secret: cutting himself with a razor blade is the only thing that lets him control the pain in his life and find some peace. When he becomes friends with Chyvonne, a new girl at school, he doesn't know how to get close to her without revealing his secret and making himself even more vulnerable. Spending time with Chyvonne spurs Travis to try to discover why his mother can't seem to face his very existence. It's only when he learns about the art form of paper cutting that he realizes there might be other ways to make himself feel adrenalin-fueled and in control.
Although self-harm through cutting is a problem usually associated with teenage girls, many young men are involved in different sorts of self-injury. This story explores a teenager's motivations for cutting and the options for overcoming the need to self-injure.


My Thoughts
★★★ Stars
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
***TRIGGERS!!! TRIGGERS!!! TRIGGERS!!!***
This book has cutting/self harm triggers.

What the ever loving crap. man!! What the what!!
*takes a deep breath to try to chill out*
Okay, no. Seriously. what the hell was that?
This book was so freaking awesome! And the fact it is 3am now, I can say once you start this book, you won't want to put it down. 
I love the flow of the story and it makes you really open your eyes that people go through this. GUYS GO THROUGH THIS! Not just girls. but it is so rare you hear about a guy cutting, so they just get lost. This book really shines a light on that.

Now what made me mad about this book.... For one, there wasn't really a "section off" for when a new scene popped up, so you kinda have to sit there rereading for a second to realize "oh! he's hone from school now!" or "oh! he's at school now!".... but mainly what really made me mad was there was no help for him in the end. As a reader, I didn't get closure. Sure, the mom gets help, but does he? I love he has a hobby he can focus on and take his pain out on, but I kinda wish he would have reached out more or something. SOMETHING to let me know he will be okay and that he plans to start his fight to stop.......which makes me question, does he? does he even WANT to?
I get the whole "you can't help those who don't want help." But I'm left questioning if he wants help? I know he doesn't want to feel invisible anymore and wants the bullying to stop.

Just. So. Many. QUESTIONS. And. No. ANSWERS! GRRR!!!!

Which makes this book feel so incomplete.

That ending made me want to throw my book across the room. The ending pissed me off and left me feeling like it was unfair. For him AND myself as a reader. 

I loved this book yet wanted so much more from it.
I guess you can say Cutter Boy is a bitter sweet story.

Monday, April 25, 2016

The Far End by Randal Licato

Synopsis

Am I Dreaming? Maybe...Maybe not.
Telby is awakened by a freakishly hairy,
talking creature who calls himself the Ricksnuff.
The Ricksnuff pulls a ladder from his mouth
that leads into a strange place and offers Telby
a deal: If he leaves his life behind,
and climbs up the ladder, he can be someone new.
Telby thinks life is pointless, a waste,
and nothing is new.
He will prove the Ricksnuff wrong.



My Thoughts
★★★★★ Astounding Stars
I received this book  in return for an honest review.
What a wonderful adventure!
I truly enjoyed this book. When I first started I read the note from the author and he mentioned that he didn't want to push his beliefs on anyone. Reading this, I couldn't help wonder why he would say that because I didn't really see how this has to do anything with religion, but... that chapter made me realize, as well as the last page confirming it, then I truly understood.... And it was beautiful.
Which is kinda odd I guess, huh.... All these monsters and crazy adventures, yet still beautiful because of that beautiful ending. 

To be honest, I really can see this being a child's book. The writing was so fluid and enticing that it just kept you hooked, reading non-stop. The monsters ... reminded me of R.L. Stine's writing. Lol. Which is even more epicly awesome because I love R.L. Stine and these fella's (monsters; even Rick) seemed like they stepped out of a Goosebumps book! Lol. It was wonderful and left me in awe! 

I really would recommend this book. It's for all ages. Young and old..... and take it from someone who actually really doesn't like "adventure" books, this one is amazing. 
I have actually read 2 other books by Randal Licato (Adeline and The Other Side) and I would sooooooo recommend those as well! He is a awesome author. His books are short but have such a impact, it leaves you with a "whoa, that was awesome!" feeling and really makes you think... And he is one of those authors that when you read his books, you'll remember them years later even if you've only read them once.

Monday, April 18, 2016

Ugly by Margaret McHeyzer

Synopsis

If I were dead, I wouldn't be able to see.
If I were dead, I wouldn't be able to feel.
If I were dead, he'd never raise his hand to me again.
If I were dead, his words wouldn't cut as deep as they do.
If I were dead, I'd be beautiful and I wouldn't be so...ugly.
I'm not dead...but I wish I was.
*This is a dark YA/NA standalone, full-length novel. Contains violence and some explicit language*



My Thoughts
★★★ Stars
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
For the sake of my mental health, I have to put this under Did Not Finish at 23%.
The blurb really should have also added "Trigger Warning: Sexual Assault" among other things.
From start to finish has me so jacked up, I'm shaking, crying, and I feel so sick and scared. My husband is having one hell of a time trying to calm me down.

Normally, I do not rate DNF books, but I actually think this book deserves stars. Why? Because how the author writes..... It's like it really happened to her. Like she knows.... What victims go though. How they feel. How some handle it. The author made you feel ..... every single feeling. 
As someone who has been sexually assaulted then raped three months later... This book was very hard to even get to 23%. I wish I could finish it. I really do. But I can't, and I don't think I ever will. The book seems so amazing though. The writing and stuff. Margaret McHeyzer has that rare gift that allows readers to feel everything. Though ... this is a book, I really don't want to feel. I wish her all the luck with this book though.

Please note this review is only for the first 23% of the book!!! I have no idea what happens later, so things may change that I have no idea about!
THIS BOOK HAS TRIGGERS!!!!

Thursday, April 14, 2016

White Raven (Raven, #1) by J.L. Weil

Synopsis

DREADFUL LIES.
UNEXPECTED LOVE.
IMPOSSIBLE TRUTH.
It only took one heartbeat to change my life—one chilling phone call in the middle of the night.
And then, as if my life didn’t already suck, my dad sends my brother and me to some idyllic island for the summer to live with a grandma we never met. WTH. Naturally, I rebel. In the end, I find myself shipped off to Raven Hallow…and bored to tears.
Until I get an eyeful of the mind-bendingly gorgeous Zane Hunter. The dark-hair cutie makes my pulse go bonkers, and I think, maybe this might not be so bad after all. Six feet of swoon inducing looks, with a hint of Celtic charm in his voice, he was the type of guy that left a string of broken hearts in his wake. And I had all the heartbreak I could handle.
Yet, there is something uncanny, almost supernatural about Zane, and it’s not just his devastating smirk. No matter how much distance I put between us, Raven Hallow isn’t big enough, and the sparking tension between is undeniable. Of course, the one person I want to avoid becomes my salvation.
My past comes back to terrorize me. Someone wants me dead, and the closer I get to the truth, the more I realize my whole life is a lie. I am no longer sure what is more frightening—the attempts on my life or the guy whose heart and soul are synchronized with mine. 


My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
I adored this book. Honestly, the character reminded me of myself to the point of saying things I would say. Lol. I thought this book was very well paced and the character building was amazing. I liked how even though she wasn't a fan of "girl" friends, she managed to make a few anyway, well, one anyways. I liked how the reapers and death weren't your typical "black hooded cloak with a crazy looking scythe". The fact that death had a sense of humor was just awesome to me. But of course, there is the insta-love...  Which I'm not knocking, I'm just wishing it weren't predictable. For once I kinda wish the girl wouldn't go for the "bad boy".... and I kinda wish she would have went with who she was SUPPOSE to be with. He is so adorable! Ugh I just love him! Anywho, I wish we could have known more about a few characters like Rose and her mama. And to be honest, I actually am curious to know more about her brother for the fact, he might be younger and a "gamer" but that doesn't make him blind. As a brother, I'm sure he is still protective over his sister and was wondering where she was going all the time. What did he think about all the crazy things going on, ya know?
A few things I had trouble with ... well, not really trouble, it just made me think "that's not possible" is when they were talking about Banshees and Reapers. They made it seem like Piper was both... Which isn't possible, considering Reapers reap the souls while a Banshees cry warns of an impending death. I could be missing something here or she could just be making her own kind of Banshee.
Also at one point, I really thought it said the twins were five minutes apart, but later it says four? I'd I'm wrong, someone, please tell me.
Over all, I adored this book and can not wait to get my hands on book two! I need it. NOW!

Saturday, April 9, 2016

Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi

Synopsis

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.
The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.
The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.
Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.


My Thoughts
★★ Stars
I didn't find anything unique about this story. I felt as if I had read it all before. Even the whole Striking things out non-stop. Which is passed annoying, by the way.
I felt like this was The Selection and Divergent mixed in to one with a few other books shoved in. I want to say I enjoyed the writing of the book, but that would be a lie. A major plus would have been if the strikes were left out. The strikes were completely pointless and most of the things she said made absolutely no sense. "I'm dripping red paint on the floor." ....Ummmm, what? Among other lines. I just couldn't get into it. I was looking for reasons to actually put it down so I wouldn't have to finish it. The only time it really got better were the last three chapters. I'm sorry, I personally would not recommend this book. Nor would I read book two.