Friday, April 28, 2017

Instagram Bookstagram 🤔

I have to admit, I haven't been here as much as I use to be. I only have myself to blame, I suppose. I have been on Instagram for years but only recently stumbled upon the wondrous world of Bookstagram.
It is what Goodreads use to be, really. I know I know "*gasp* those are fighting words!" but if you really think about it. Goodreads use to be about books and reviewing and other bookworms sharing the love of books. But it seems like lately every time I log on, not many are actually reviewing books. They are mostly just commenting on games or trying to win books they will never even read.
But, that is beside the point of this since I was meaning to just talk about bookstagramming.

I have come across the most amazing, sweetest people while bookstagramming. abdulia_ortiz, livin.the.fandomlife, angelena_vee, the_pufflehuffle_kitteh, and sooooo many more. If I tried to name everyone I would literally be here all day and night for a while. Lol

It is so amazing seeing so many beautiful pictures of their books and seeing how one book can have SO MANY different personalities. I can only wish to have half the talent most of these people have. I missed talking about books and sharing the book love. Lol.

I guess what I am trying to say is if you don't see me here, I am definitely there. Lol. If you haven't found your book "family" I would recommend bookstagramming.

Don't get me wrong. Like everything on the internet, it has it's trolls as well. but I must say I am amazed at how tight-nit the bookstagram community is. You mess with one, you mess with all and seriously reminds me of the Hogwarts battle.

Totally badass, right?

What can I say?
*image not mine but I completely agree ♥♥♥♥*

Me & Earl & the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Synopsis

Title: Me & Earl & the Dying Girl
Author: Jesse Andrews
Genre: Mature Young Adult/New Adult/Fiction
My Rating: 1/5
Add To: Goodreads



Greg Gaines is the last master of high school espionage, able to disappear at will into any social environment. He has only one friend, Earl, and together they spend their time making movies, their own incomprehensible versions of Coppola and Herzog cult classics.
Until Greg’s mother forces him to rekindle his childhood friendship with Rachel.
Rachel has been diagnosed with leukemia—-cue extreme adolescent awkwardness—-but a parental mandate has been issued and must be obeyed. When Rachel stops treatment, Greg and Earl decide the thing to do is to make a film for her, which turns into the Worst Film Ever Made and becomes a turning point in each of their lives.
And all at once Greg must abandon invisibility and stand in the spotlight.


My Thoughts
★ Star

"In fact, high school is where we are first introduced to the basic question of life: How is it possible to exist in a place that sucks so bad?"

That is probably the only text in this book that I actually liked and agreed with. The rest of this book is complete and utter trash. 

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is a perfect example of how NOT to write. I honestly have no idea how this book managed to make it to the best seller list. I also stand by the fact this should not be labeled as "Young Adult". It should be Adult, even New Adult. I'll even go as far as saying MATURE YA (which is really pretty much New Adult, but hopefully you get my point) 

the main character in this book is just a disgusting slime ball. And trust me when I say Earl TOPS disgusting slime ball. He is the type that really makes you wonder how he has friends at all unless he has a gun to their head saying "we are gonna be friends!" Which.... I actually would not put passed him to do. 

I admit part of me wanted to feel bad for Earl. I really did. I mean, you have a deadbeat mom and dad. Your house is falling apart covered in dog poop, vomit, dirty clothes.... The works of any hoodrat. But then I thought, well, I can't feel bad because there are plenty of people in that same situation and still manage to make straight A's, clean the poop and vomit. Ya know. the HUMANE thing to do. And of course we can't exactly feel bad for him when 1) he is a drug dealer and 2) the fact for 2 pages plus more scattered through this book he continuously says degrading things such as "You gonna eat her pussy?" "You better eat dat pussy." "Ew bro ain't nobody trying to hear vagina! that's nasty!" among much more trash along those lines.  
Earl turns my stomach. I'm not even kidding. Every time he was brought up, I just wanted to puke.
Do I really need to bring up the 13 year old "TRU NIGGA" neck tattooed, drug dealing, drop out, brother that knocked up some chick? Or is that pretty self explanatory?

Can you believe I hated this book so bad, I literally can not remember the main characters name? Oh well, don't really care. he really is no better. He is crude and makes my skin crawl. He reminds me of one of those creepers that just stand there wide eyed watching your every move throwing out the vibe "I'm going to watch you poop" or something. Ugh! 

I noticed a lot of times he went on and on about all these groups that hate each other and the trick to surviving high school is to be in with all of them without them knowing...and he thought he was "all that" because he managed to do that..... I really wonder if it ever crossed his mind that he was THAT much of a loser that he isn't in with ANY group, that they just tiny nod at him in hopes that he won't bother them because really no one likes him. Like even the "gothy dorks" and losers want nothing to do with him. Hmmmmmm..... Would make perfect sense if you ask me. and I hated how he guilt tripped that girl into talking to him. He lied through his dang teeth and made her feel bad. Words really don't cover how low that is and how much it pissed me off. 

I have never hated a main character so much in my life and that is saying a lot. Than again, I don't think I have ever hated a book as much as I have this one. Even the parents made me roll my eyes. They are so freaking oblivious to what is going on. 


This book was just terrible. The constant change between novel to screen play made me want to scream. The narration was cringe-worthy. The whole "this book is so stupid, why are you still reading" really made me ask myself why the hell I was. But people kept telling me it gets better, it gets better. eerrrrr.....no. No it didn't. Anywho, back to the narration the whole "I should punch myself in the eyeball/I punched myself in the eyeball/you should punch yourself in the eyeball for reading this" on and on and on and on... like really dude? What the hell is the point of saying that? It's stupid and pointless.  

I would never in my life recommend this book. There are much better books out there. This is not one of them.

What Dread Hand (The Haunting of Grey Hills, #3) by Jennifer Skogen

Synopsis

Title: What Dread Hand
Series: The Haunting of Grey Hills #3
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Mature Young Adult/Young Adult/Paranormal/Horror
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads


What really happened during the Fire of 1966? Go back in time and see the famous tragedy through the eyes of student Henry Grey and history teacher Lorna Evans. Henry's uncle, Principle Grey, is teaching Henry to fight ghosts... but is there something his uncle isn't telling him? Lorna returns to Grey Hills after inheriting her father's house. She also inherits an urn of her grandfather's ashes, which may contain more than meets the eye.

My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I think it's safe to say I am addicted to this series. 

I really loved how this book went back in time and explained a lot of how it all started. It actually reminds me a lot of the Fear Street books by RL Stine. 

I really liked that this book didn't have as much cussing as the rest but I still stand by the fact still a lot was unnecessary. Also when she threatened her class that if they move, she would wring their necks. Man if a teacher EVER threatened my kids like that she'd never teach again. 

Any who, I felt this story lacked a bit though. Don't get me wrong, I loved this book. I just feel like it lacked that "umph" that the previous books had. 

But man that surprise blew me away. I knew it had to be somthing like that but it still shocked the heck out of me. 

I really can't wait to read the next book and see where it takes everything

Friday, April 21, 2017

Forests of the Night (The Haunting of Grey Hills #2) by Jennifer Skogen

Synopsis

Title: Forests of the Night
Series: The Haunting of Grey Hills #2
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Mature Young Adult/Young Adult/Paranormal/Horror
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads


"The Door of the Dead is open, and Macy hones her newfound powers destroying the ghosts who emerge. However, when she meets a ghost who reminds her of her dead brother, Macy decides to spare him. While Dominick and his friends try to find a way to close the Door, Macy's dangerous friendship grows stronger. Ultimately, everyone must decide what secrets are worth keeping, and what price they are willing to pay for them"






My Thoughts
★★★ Stars

Don't you sometimes wish that pets would come back instead of people? Puppies and hamsters following us around. Little poodle ghosts?

Man, I can NOT get over this story line. It is so off the charts for me. I am so invested in this story and the characters now that I want to read the whole series in one sitting. I enjoy the story line so much, it's literally the only thing that keeps me reading and sucked in. I've never in my life read anything quiet like this before.

But... Just like book one, it has its issues. Mainly, the profanity. Again, by chapter two I started keeping tally.
*Fuck-65
*Shit-25
*Ass-7
*Bitch-5
*Hell-3
*Damn-3
*Pissed-2



Again, the cussing was just nonstop and so unnecessary. I just don't understand the need to have all these in here so often to the point where you leave readers asking "Why did you even put that there?"

And the drinking takes a more active roll in this book. Trev pretty much STAYS wasted. And somehow they always manage to have alcohol on had with no parents knowing. Then again the parents in these books are pretty much null and void.



Sorry, I'm just not a fan of the cussing and drinking nonstop. Especially since this is classed as Middle Grade/Young Adult. It sets a really horrible example.


If the story line wasn't so dang good I would have quit reading halfway through book one. Lol. I'm so conflicted! I don't know how I feel about them. Like I'm obsessed with the books for the storyline but despise it for the profanity and drinking. Lol ugh.


That ending though.

You're gonna end it like that?! Oh heck naw!!! Lol

I admit, once the dead bodies started showing up, I knew what was going on. But the last two pages. Oh. Freaking. Crap. did not see that coming! I think I stared slack-jawed for a good 5 minutes before I got my barrings back. Haha.

I'm really looking forward to book three but judging by these first two, I won't hold my breath for less profanity.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

The Burning (The Haunting of Grey Hills #1) by Jennifer Skogen

Synopsis

Title: The Burning
Series: The Haunting of Grey Hills
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Mature Young Adult/Young Adult/Paranormal/Horror
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads


Everyone in Grey Hills knows about the fire that burned down the old high school fifty years ago. Macy Pierce grew up hearing horror stories about the students who burned alive inside it. It was a tragic accident...right? After Macy's brother dies over the summer, she doesn't expect the first day of her junior year to feel normal. But when she starts seeing things - including a teacher bursting into flames - she begins to question her own sanity. Now, she sees signs of the dead everywhere, and she and a group of new friends may be all that stands between the new high school and a doorway to hell.





My Thoughts 
★★★ Stars

When I saw this book in the library, I didn't even have to read what it was about. The cover alone made me know I HAD to read it. So I got home and that's exactly what I did. 

And I quickly realized this book should not be in Middle Grade/Young Adult section. It should be in Mature YA/Adult. 



As much as I really want to give this book 5 stars, I can't. The Burning has potential. It really does. But there is just a lot that really ticked me off. Such as:

-the profanity. It's was unnecessary. I could understand a few, but this went way over the limit and were placed in ways that made me think the author had no idea what to say or put, so she just threw those in. 
They cussed so much that by chapter 2 I decided to keep track of all cussing. By chapter seven, I could no longer put my pen down because they came so often. 
*Shit-23
*Fuck-54
*Hell-3
*Ass-3
*Damn-2
*Bitch-2
*Bastards-1
***I'm sure I missed a few, so there are probably more.***

The other problems I had with this book was all the drinking and yet no adult noticed at all. Seriously? You gotta be kidding. And they just did it nonchalantly. And also there was a scene that was clearly an assault yet it was just brushed off like it was nothing which REALLY pissed me off. 

And lets not forget how Claire WANTED to make someone have PTSD. Like that's just some big joke. OR later when we learn that Macy once tried to hurt herself by cutting........ With a freaking butter knife. 

Are. You. Kidding. PTSD and cutting are not JOKES! They aren't somthing you just take lightly. And in this book they were unnecessary and uncalled for. 


Now the story itself? 
Oh man it was so amazing and creepy. I mean if the cusswords were removed thus book could have easily been a 5 star book. I didn't see that ending coming at all. And the ghost dude scared the crap out if me. Lol. Every time he popped up, I looked around scared because it just FELT like he was there. Mega creepy. Lol

The characters are interesting. I'll give them that. 

I got book 2 and 3 when I grabbed book 1....so hopefully it gets better and they chill out with the cussing.

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Synopsis

Title: Red Queen
Series: Red Queen
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Genre: Young Adult/Dystopia/Supernatural
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads


This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.
The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.
That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.
Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.
But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.




My Thoughts 
★★★★★+++ Stars


If you are ever looking for a book that will be so mind-numbing fantastic that it makes you forget how to review or makes you just forget EARTH.... this is the book for you!


"In the stories, the old fairy tales, a hero comes. But all my heroes are gone or dead. No one is coming for me."

Red Queen oh ...my... gosh. Why did I take so long to get this book. Why did I wait so long to even read it when I got it? I regret not reading it right away because I deprived myself of one of the greatest books I have ever read. Lol. Red Queen was PHENOMENAL.

The only problem I had wasn't even really a problem, but it was a bit silly was her name. I couldn't help thing "Man, did your parents hate you?" because really... who names their kid so close to bone marrow? But then I remembered some people name their kids Apple and Shortcake, so ... I guess it fits. Anyway...

Other than that really, this book was just perfection. That ending. I swear once it got to the end of the book it was like a domino effect was set into motion and you leave your soul about 50 miles back where the hell it started all while your heart is being used as a chew toy.

Victoria Aveyard, you evil evil woman. But I guess you said it yourself....
"I told you to hide your heart once. You should have listened."

It breaks your heart but man... It just keeps you sucked in that you loose all touch with the real world. It's written so perfectly that you are in the book and you feel every little thing. I agree it is a bit like The Selection but Mare is freaking Katniss, you better watch your back. Lol I highly recommend this book.

Myths & Legends Book Blitz

Myths & Legends banner

Today is the release day for the Myths & Legends boxed set! Get 20 books from 20 different authors in one boxed set for only 0.99$!

This is my stop during the book blitz for the Myths & Legends Boxed Set. This is the sixth and final post during this tour. This book blitz is organized by Lola's Blog Tours.

Myths & Legends is a compilation of 20 Full-Length Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy reads currently available to buy for only 99c, including works from New York Times, USA Today, Bestselling, and various Award-Winning authors!

Myths & LegendsMyths & Legends
by Margo Bond Collins, N.R. Larry, Joanne Wadsworth, J.H. Croix, Madisyn Ashmore, Michelle Madow, Amber Lynn Natusch, Chrissy Peebles, Genevieve Jack, Siobhan Davis, S.L. Morgan, J.L. Hendricks, Lisa Manifold, Corinne O’Flynn, Andrea Pearson, Emily Martha Sorensen, Ever Coming, Sarah M Cradit, Rachael Slate, Olivia Wildenstein and Cael Percy
Genre: Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy
Age category: Young Adult, New Adult and Adult
Release Date: 18 April, 2017

Blurb:
The MYTHS & LEGENDS Boxed Set is a compilation of 20 Full-Length Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy reads, including works from USA Today bestsellers, Bestselling Harlequin authors, and various Award-Winning authors!

Gear up for a collection packed with an exciting mix of undiscovered existing titles and brand new content! The pages inside are packed with everything from vampires, faeries, witches, and shifters to romantic quests, cities brimming with paranormal activity, secret societies, and ruthless villains.

With over a million words of fiction, this is your one stop shop for vampire and witch romance, urban fantasy, shifter romance, and spellbinding myths from more than twenty bestselling authors!

*Estimated Total Page Count: 5,000+


You can find Myths & Legends on Goodreads

20 books in one boxed set for only 0.99$!
Buy the Myths & Legends boxed set for only 0.99$ here:
- Amazon
- Barnes & Noble
- Kobo
- iBooks

Myths & Legends boxed set cover


The Authors:
Margo Bond Collins
N.R. Larry
Joanne Wadsworth
J.H. Croix
Madisyn Ashmore
Michelle Madow
Amber Lynn Natusch
Chrissy Peebles
Genevieve Jack
Siobhan Davis
S.L. Morgan
J.L. Hendricks
Lisa Manifold
Corinne O’Flynn
Andrea Pearson
Emily Martha Sorensen
Ever Coming
Sarah M Cradit
Rachael Slate
Olivia Wildenstein
Cael Percy

Release Day Giveaway
Myths & Legends Giveaway banner

The authors of this box set are hosting a big giveaway to celebrate the release of the Myths & Legends box set! One winner will win a $100 Amazon gift card!

For a chance to win enter the giveaway here:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Wide Giveaway

During the book blitz for Myths & Legends there’s a tour wide giveaway! These are the prizes you can win:
- 5 Myths & Legends Boxsets
- 3 $10 Amazon Gift Cards
- Various signed paperbacks by the participating authors

For a chance to win, enter the rafflecopter below:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, April 14, 2017

Upcoming Book Blitz Tours!

Hey everyone! I am writing to let you all know there will be two upcoming book blitz/Book tours! I really hope you join us those days! Here is some information about them. So mark your calenders and stop by to show some love!


On April 18th I will be hosting a book blitz for Myths & Legends



And on Saturday, May 6 I will be hosting Arbiter book tour!


I can not WAIT to do these and I really hope y'all join us on these days and share your excitement as well!

Path to the Key (Destruction of Magic #1) by April Canavan

Synopsis

Title: Path to the Key
Series: Destruction of Magic
Author: April Canavan
Genre: Mature/Adult/Erotica/Supernatural
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

Magic is fading throughout the world and the supernatural realms can feel the strain growing daily, but Sarah doesn't care about any of that. She cares about protecting her son from her vampiric ex-husband who is obsessed with gaining power. She'll stop at nothing to ensure that Alex doesn't get his hands on Jackson, even if it means welcoming more vampires and other supernatural beings into her life. Their journey takes her across the country, seeking the help of a witch that has invaded her son's dreams. A vampire named Zander threatens to bring all of her carefully constructed walls crashing down. She'll break every rule and every preconceived notion they have about her, as long as she can save her son and give him the future that was stolen from her. Sarah's path connects to the very battle that she tries to avoid, and when she embraces not only her growing power, but also her destiny- she might be able to change the tides of fate.




My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.

I finished this book at 4 this morning and I am still at a loss for words.
I'm just gonna say, you know it is a good book when it makes you want to throw it a couple of times.
Path to the Key was very well written and flowed so smooth it had me hooked from the very start. It had such an interesting story that you can't help but to be drawn in. Even with it's flaws you wonder "But what is going to happen next?" I mean, this book is a roller coaster that will leave you exhausted at the end. I wouldn't blame you if you just sat there staring off into space after you finish it with the "deer in headlights" look. Goodness knows I did. Haha.

As much as I hate to say it, there were a few things that left me upset.





Anyway, xD I really think Winter was my favorite character in all honesty. I mean, the "I am the most powerful witch" every few seconds got really annoying but after she chilled out a bit and stopped saying it so much, she was awesome. As for Sara, she is a puzzle. I like her, I relate. But there is also a part of me that really just wanted to slap her. I think that is why I may like Winter so much. Lol She had finally had enough and told her to hush, listen, and grow up.
I have such a love hate relationship with this book! Lol But I really would recommend it to other supernatural lovers.

I will admit, a few things that happened made me tear up a bit. Even for those I strongly disliked because the pain was so REAL. that is why I say this book like like a roller coaster. You feel every single bit that these characters feel and it leaves you at a loss for words and exhausted that the end.


Keep in mind, this book is a 18 and up book! So if you are 18+ and a supernatural loverm I would recommend it.

Sunday, April 2, 2017

GIVEAWAYS GALORE!!!!!

Well howdy and hello my amazing followers and friends. Dropping I to say there are TWO giveaways, you heard me, TWO! Amazing ones if I may say so myself.

First up, we have a Facebook giveaway hosted by the one and only Olivia Wildenstein! She's giving away one $5 amazon gift card and one ebook of her new release 🌹 Rose Petal Graves! I can tell you, I've read the book and it's simply AMAZING!!!

THE GIVEAWAY ENDS TOMORROW SO ENTER FAST! 👉 🌹 Rose Petal Graves by Olivia Wildenstein giveaway 🌹


Next up, we have the sweet and funny Ashley Earley's Alone In Paris! She is giving away ONE copy of her newest, I'm talkin fresh off the press,  book Alone In Paris!

THE GIVEAWAY ENDS THE 20TH AND SPOTS ARE FILLING FAST! GET OVER AND ENTER!! 👉

🗼 Alone In Paris by Ashley Earley giveaway 🗼

Thursday, March 30, 2017

March Book Wind-Up

Title: At First Blush
Author: Beth Ellyn Summer
Genre: Young Adult/Middle Grade/Romance
My Rating: 3/5
Add ToGoodreads
Full ReviewClick Here

The cover was cute. It was what drew me in with the promise that the blurb would deliver a awesome story. It didn't it fell flat for me and was very predictable. But it does show that the media has way to much effect in peoples lives.







Title: Mythical Beasts and Beings
Author: Lisa Graves
Genre: Young Adult/Mythical/Supernatural
My Rating: 5/5
Add ToGoodreads
Full ReviewClick Here

This was cute. I would definitely say this needs to be on every book shelf.  









Title: Wednesday
Author: Steven Evans
Genre: Young Adult/Middle Grade
My Rating: 1/5
Add ToGoodreads
Full ReviewClick Here

No. Just no. This book made me mad from the start. I'm sorry, but 12 year olds do not talk like 80 year old professors who have 60 degrees in everything they could possibly study. If you want a book that makes you feel uneducated, by all means, grab this book. Lol Sorry. This just wasn't my thing.







Title: Concealed
Series: Virus
Author: R.J. Crayton
Genre: Young Adult/Dystopia
My Rating: 1/5
Add ToGoodreads
Full ReviewClick Here

Don't you just love that cover! Doesn't it make it look exciting? It really does. But that is where the excitement ends. Taking a quote from my review: This book was as fun as watching paint dry or reading the Apple's Terms & Conditions agreement page. 







Title: Humanity's Hope
Author: Pembroke Sinclair
Genre: Young Adult/Dystopia/Zombies
My Rating: 5/5
Add ToGoodreads
Full ReviewClick Here


I am really glad to wrap up March with this read. I REALLY loved it. It was a bit slow but once it kicked off, I seriously could not put it down. In fact, my kindle actually died in the middle of reading it and I bout went crazy for 10 minutes waiting for it to charge enough to cut back on. Lol. I highly recommend this book.


Wednesday, March 29, 2017

Humanity's Hope by Pembroke Sinclair

Synopsis

Title: Humanity's Hope
Author: Pembroke Sinclair
Genre: Young Adult/Dystopia/Zombies
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads

Caleb, a 17-year-old boy, survived the zombie uprising, but he didn’t come out of the ordeal unscathed. He’s been scarred—both mentally and physically. The rest of humanity is trying to rebuild, to make the world normal again. Caleb is trying to return to a normal life also, but after all he’s seen, after the loss of his family and friends, the transition is difficult. The darkness that led him down a path of self-doubt and self-harm keeps trying to creep back into his mind.
Things only become worse when he discovers he’s immune to whatever makes a zombie a zombie. Fighting zombies was predictable. He knew what to expect. Fighting humans is volatile. They are malicious and treacherous. They won’t stop to get what they want, and Caleb has to figure out exactly what that is.

*Trigger warning: attempted suicide



My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.

A fast paced, roller coaster with one hell of a twist. Something you can really sink your teeth into. 



Okay. *pew-explosion noise* .....that was the sound of my mind being blown. This book was freaking off the wall, loss for words, good. I mean there are no words to justify how good this was.

I admit, it took a while to get into which is one reason it took so long to read it. (Other reason being my laptop died.....and by died, I mean it fried. There is no coming back from that lol) But I am really glad I stuck with it because once it got good ....oh man. It got amaz-balls good. Lol.

I thought the main character was written very well. Like perfect well in my opinion. He'd been through all this hell and he didn't let that stop him from getting things done. Not to mention how well he handled his PTSD and so many other things. He didn't let that stop him and he was able to get out of the dark places where his mind try to throw him. So that is a really big plus for me. It made it impossible for me to dislike him in any way. His friend on the other hand.....I wouldn't mind hitting with my car going 80. He just seemed so annoying. Like those ankle biting dog that literally never shut up yapping. How annoying is this guy? Just think of the "aliens" meme guy. Haha.

You know I have to throw in the "love" thing... Readers who hate insta-love will be glad to know there is no insta-love. You can tell something is there but nothing is touched till the end of the book, even then it doesn't hit you like a 300 pound brick upside the head like most books love to do.

I thought the setting were pretty interesting. Incredibly intense but interesting but...sadly I wish there had been more zombies. This was more like a mystery than anything else. That's just.me though. I love my zombies.plus I've read Mrs. Pemboke's other zombie series (Life After the Undead and Death To The Undead if you'd like to check those out.) ... I thought this would have a zombie mass like it did.
But I am NOT saying this is a and book. I'm saying the opposite really.this book was kick ass.

I would like to also add that I think this book gave me a heart attack. Intense is the only way I can describe this book. When he is running and hiding, I swear my legs were trying to react and when he held his breath... so did I, but I quickly found out I would die off the bat because my asthma was not having any of that breath holding stuff. Hahah. So yeah this book is really intense and gave me nightmares like crazy. So if you read this, you may or may not have nightmare.

The ending about killed me though. I thought I knew who it was...man was I wrong. Lol chances are you'll be wrong as well. XD I want to say so much more about the ending but I can't. I really don't want to give it away.

I would highly recommend this book.

Sunday, March 19, 2017

Concealed (Virus #1) by R.J. Crayton

Synopsis

Title: Concealed
Series: Virus
Author: R.J. Crayton
Genre: Young Adult/Dystopia
My Rating: 1/5



They said it was extremely hard to get. They said it wasn't airborne. They said there was nothing to fear. They were wrong. Seventeen-year-old Elaan Woodson was supposed to be one of the lucky ones. She got one of the few spots in the subterranean protection unit designed to keep select scientists, military officials and their families safe from the deadly virus ravaging the world above. But, how lucky are you really when the people in charge and those you love keep secrets from you? While Elaan has heard that what you don't know can't hurt you, she's beginning to think otherwise. And she should...





My Thoughts
★ Stars
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.

When I saw the cover and blub for this book, I was ecstatic. "Yaaaay! A new dystopia zombie book! EEEPPP!!!!" So I dived right in... aaaaand then it all just fell apart.

This book was as fun as watching paint dry or reading the Apple's Terms & Conditions agreement page. There was nothing good about this book. It was just plain boring with absolutely nothing happening. 

None of the characters were likable. Not even the main character. She was so whiny and pissed me off to no ends because she was so "angry" at her father because he chose to mourn the loss of his wife, while she chose to just carry on like "la-la-la". She hated her father because he was depressed and unconnected. Yet when it came to her needing to hightail it outta there, he snapped out of the depression and was trying to help her with everything he had... AND SHE WAS PISSED ABOUT IT! she even wanted to (and I quote) tell him to "Go to hell". Like really, you idiot? He is trying to help you. Not ONCE did it go through his mind that he would ever loose you, you freaking brat. Had he KNOWN, I highly freaking doubt he was mourn at that time. Ugh. -_- Literally every page I saw her stamping her feet like a toddler who was told no.

There was literally no action. Non of any kind. They were all trapped below surface looking for a cure. that is all it talks about. Even when they had to leave, there was still no action. You could skip 2 and more chapters and STILL know what was happening.....because nothing happened. If anything, they just talk. When things should be happening, like when they leave, nothing. You would think with a raging virus uptop, the world would be crawling with infected but nope. They just get to walk away. No action. 

But.... but. 
It was very much full of useless babble. Such as:
Elaan surveyed Lijah's face, disbelief still clinging to her brain, but gnawing ache was replacing her shock. The depths of Lijah's deception began to settle in on her. Josh's secret, his own secret, hadn't been her business so she could understand Lijah's choice not to tell her.

Oooooooookay. that was overkill to go into all that. Just saying. Especially when you can replace most of this with something ACTUALLY HAPPENING. The climax of this book. The "secret" was so anticlimax that you really just want to throw the book and demand to know why in the hell you wasted your time reading this book in the first place. 

Through this whole damn book its all be the "secret". she can't know. she much never know. No. No. She shall never know. No, don't tell her. We can't tell you. *gasps* I WILL NEVER TELL! 
Want to know the secret here it is, it'll save you a lot of time so you can go on to actually read a book worth your time, *click the spoiler button*





But yeah. boring right. Wouldn't recommend. Stay far away from this one. No action, no building of any sort. No nothing.

Monday, March 6, 2017

Wednesday by Steven Evans

Synopsis

Title: Wednesday
Author: Steven Evans
Genre: Young Adult/Middle Grade
My Rating: 1/5


Among the young scholars on the first day of seventh grade, Lakshmi Pardeshi — better known as Lash — befriends a fascinating girl named Wednesday, who claims she can control people with her mind. Impressed by Wednesday’s bold demeanor and sharp wit, Lash enlists Wednesday to help with an unpopular friend’s bid for class president amid unstoppable competition. With each passing day, Lash witnesses Wednesday’s manipulation go from innocent pranks to admirable ways of skirting discipline to much darker deeds.







My Thoughts
★ Stars
I revived this book via LT book giveaway.
DNF at 50%

I may or may not come back to this book. Every time I tried to read it, I literally fell asleep. Everything fell flat. There was no character building or any kind of building for that matter. It was just plain monotone.

If the book through the first 50% managed to do anything other than make me sleep, it was annoy the heck out of me.
I am sorry but 12 year old kids do not talk like this. Unless they are somehow a mini Sheldon Cooper

But I doubt it. So while they are running going on about that, apparently the adults are just stupid and let the kids do whatever.

Let me take a second here to say something about the teacher Ms. Jablinske ... She freaked me out to the point I feel like a red danger sign should be posted on her forehead. She offered way way way way to much PERSONAL information. You are not there to teach them about your life. You are there to teach them math, language, ect. They do not need to know you are 20 something and never married with zero kids. It is a classroom. Not a dating profile. They are 12, you pedo.


Wednesday is suppose to have some kind of mind control thing from what I can tell so far but honestly it just seems like a load of hogwash to me. Lash swears up and down that Weds has control to make people do things but all I have seen her do is talk her way out of trouble. So to me, no mind control.... just a skilled con-artist.



I wanted to like this book. No. Correction, I wanted to LOVE this book. The blurb sounded SO amazing. But sadly, It wasn't. From start to me having to stop at 50% all I wanted to do was sleep and beg them to just stop.






Thursday, March 2, 2017

Mythical Beasts and Beings by Lisa Graves

Synopsis
Title: Mythical Beasts and Beings
Author: Lisa Graves
Genre: Young Adult/Mythical/Supernatural
My Rating: 5/5


A Mythical Creatures Guide with Stunning Illustrations
Lisa Graves takes on monsters, fairies, gods and dragons in this illustrated guide to mythological creatures. Featuring legends from around the world, this collection provides information for fans of mythology, magic and more in a lovely volume.





My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.

Such a short compact read! I absolutely loved this book. I thought it was very enjoyable and the artwork was so talented and well done! 

I loved all the information it had to offer but didn't go on and on and on like most books do. It was great to offer so much in so little. Lol. And the different color fonts really made this book pop. The writing flowed amazingly and kept me interested and hanging on to every word!

All in all 5 out of 5 for sure!

Wednesday, March 1, 2017

At First Blush by Beth Ellyn Summer

Synopsis
Title: At First Blush
Author: Beth Ellyn Summer
Genre: Young Adult/Middle Grade/Romance
My Rating: 3/5




Who would have thought that a teenager could have a successful career creating makeup tutorial videos on YouTube? For Lacey Robbins, this dream has been her reality. An up-and-coming YouTuber, she has thousands of fans and can't wait for the day when her subscriber count reaches the one million mark. And when she is offered a high school internship at On Trend Magazine, she figures that this could be the make it or break it moment.
But sometimes your dream job isn't all that it seems. Her editor is only interested in promoting junk products, and her boss in the Hair and Makeup department introduces her to the larger world of makeup artistry, making her wonder if making tutorials online is all she is meant to do. To top it all off, when the magazine's feature subject , musician Tyler Lance, turns his broodingly handsome smile her way, falling for him could mean losing her fans, forcing her to make a decision: her YouTube life or her real life?





My Thoughts
★★★ Stars
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.

Sorry, this book just wasn't my thing. I'll admit it keep me drawn in but it also constantly gave me migraines every time I read it... not to mention kept my anxiety shooting through the roof. I wanted to like this book. I really did. But I didn't.... So this review may not come out to nice. Fair warning. I would also like to throw in that in my opinion this book fits under middle grade than young adult...

I liked Lacey. She seemed like a pretty good kid. But I hated that she let people just walk all over her. I hated that literally everyone in this book put all THEIR problems on HER. None of them carried their own burden. Not even her parents. If anything, they pushed her to succeed just so they can bum off her like just like Tyler's parents did all of them. Even with her so called "best friend" they drift apart and lo and behold, it is aaaaaalllllll Lacey's fault. 

I freaking hated Tyler though. From start to finish it was all the same. He was literally Justin Bieber. There is nothing else to say about Tyler because if you know Bieber, you pretty much know Tyler. 

At First Blush was very predictable and the outcome was clear before 20% into the book. I think I finished it in pure hope that it would prove me wrong. I really thought she would end up having a mental break down, I am glad she didn't and I am even more glad that her character grew so much at the end. 
She found happiness again in what she loved doing best. So I guess that is all that matters, huh?
***
If anything from this book is on point, it is that the media has WAY to much say and influence in people's lives and especially kids. 

***
May come back and edit this later, this is still making me want to rip my hair out.

Saturday, February 25, 2017

Rose Petal Graves by Olivia Wildenstein

Synopsis

Title: Rose Petal Graves
Series: The Lost Clan
Author: Olivia Wildenstein
Genre: Young Adut/Fantasy
My Rating: 5/5



ANCIENT SECRETS CANNOT REMAIN BURIED FOREVER.
Founded two centuries ago by a powerful tribe of Gottwa Indians, Rowan was a quiet town, so quiet that I fled after graduation. Staying away was the plan, but Mom died suddenly.
Dad said she suffered a stroke after she dug up one of the ancient graves in our backyard, which happens to be the town cemetery. Creepy, I know. Creepier still, there was no corpse inside the old coffin, only fresh rose petals.
As we made preparations for Mom’s burial, new people began arriving in Rowan, unnervingly handsome and odd people. I begged them to leave, but they stayed, because their enemies—my ancestors—were beginning to awaken.





My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review. 

I am addicted to this book. From the second I saw this book, I loved it. Once I started reading it I didn't want to put it down. It was such a riveting read and such a roller coaster. 

I thought the characters were really strong and the story line was original. I have never read anything like this before in my life. 
I thought Cat was ..wow... I mean really. She blew me away. I have never been a bigger fan of a main character. She has been through so much hell and still stood so strong. 

The only parts I didn't like were there was a overload of characters.. I mean, I get why but it was still confusing when I was reading and had to spend a while trying to remember who some were, sometimes, I couldn't remember but still carried on. Also.... The insa-love was a bit to much. I have nothing against insta-love buuuuut this one really left me saying "are you freaking serious? Where the hell did this come from?" So that was a put off but it didn't stop me from loving the heck out of this book.

Rose Petal Graves kept me in tears. I really think Olivia Wildenstein was taking pointers from John Green. If you love tear jerking books, this one would be right up your lane. I highly recommend this book. The ending of the book had me borderline insane! How dare it end like that! I mean.. it was a great beautiful ending but it was still technically a cliffhanger. I gotta know what happens next! I need to know! 

Thoughts about the characters
Catori (Cat): Possibly my most favorite main character EVER. And I can't even pinpoint what it is about her that I love so much. I wish I could be like her honestly. She is so strong and literally nothing can keep her down. All through this book I expected her to break into a million pieces but she would pick herself up and fight back with everything she had. She was amazing. 

Ace: The ultaminte douche. there really nothing to say about him other than that. Is it bad that he actually kinda reminds me of Christian Grey? I do like that he is very protective of his sister though.

Bee: Bless this woman's heart. She isn't a main character so we don't see her much except when tragedy struck but when you do see her, you can't help but to love her.


Blake: What can I say here? Oh look... I am crying my eyes out already. (seriously) but anywho... Blake was such a brave character who had his heart ripped out left and right. I couldn't help but to love him because no matter what, he always came to the rescue. He deserved so much better.


Cruz: Oh look! It's insta-love boy! I hate Cruz. With a passion. He is there! He is gone! There! Gone! Just ugh. Not to mention he is engaged ... to Lilly none the less. And flirts heavily with Cat right in front of Lilly. He pisses me off. I liked him at one point then next page instantly regretted it.

Derek: Cat's dad. He needs a dad award because he is just that awesome. I really can't say much about him without giving much away. but I really hope we see him in book two.

Faith: I would have let her choke. She seriously needs to be punched in the throat a couple hundred times. How someone can be THAT bitter, I have no idea but she needs to go the hell on. 

Gwenelda: I hate her as much as I hate Faith. Throughout this book we wonder if she should be trusted or not. If we should forgive her or not. Frankly, I don't trust her nor forgive her. I really hope she gets what she is coming to her.

Kajika: He came in later in the book and how he came in, I wouldn't blame you if you hated his guts as much as i did... but he grew on me and I may or may not have a crush on him. Lol

Lilly: The had no lines but was a wonderful character. I really do like her and she deserves so much better than Cruz. She seems like a really sweet girl and I have a feeling that if she could talk she would sound musical but who knows lol.

Tony: yeah not a main character so he really shouldn't be here but I am putting him anyway because I HATE HIM SO FREAKING MUCH!!! I mean could you be anymore of a deadbeat? He is pathetic! Ugh. -_-

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

I'm Judging You: The Do-Better Manual by Luvvie Ajayi

Synopsis
Title: I'm Judging You: The Do-Better Manual
Author: Luvvie Ajayi
Genre: Adult/Feminism/Nonfiction/Petty
My Rating: 1/5



With over 500,000 readers a month at her enormously popular blog, AwesomelyLuvvie.com, Luvvie Ajayi has become a go-to source for smart takes on pop culture. I'm Judging You is her debut book of humorous essays that dissects our cultural obsessions and calls out bad behavior in our increasingly digital, connected lives—from the cultural importance of the newest Shonda Rhimes television drama to serious discussions of race and media representation to what to do about your fool cousin sharing casket pictures from Grandma's wake on Facebook. With a lighthearted, rapier wit and a unique perspective, I'm Judging You is the handbook the world needs, doling out the hard truths and a road map for bringing some "act right" into our lives, social media, and popular culture.



My Thoughts
★ Kill it with fire Stars

I admit, I was curious about this book so all I did was read the sample .... 
Good Lord.... I regret it.


Right from the kicker, we learn if you're not Nigerian you pretty much don't know crap. Cue up the My Big Fat American Gypsy Wedding show because that is exactly who she is reminding me of.

And my good gah. If you happen to eat ANY DIFFERENT than her *loud horrified gasp* you are a Scrooge! How DARE you be different?!
She goes on and on about how horrible these people are then straight up says that she oftentimes leaves midmeal (making her "Scrooge 3") then says Scrooge 3 tends to not even pay their part of the bill. THEN says "Okay, it's possible for this to happen once because we're all entitled to occasional absent-mindedness." buuuuut you just said oftentimes. Hmmm. Okay.
Wow,  you must be real fun. NOT!

I wish they would just be open and honest and let us know if they're going through a down time or a broke period.

Really? Because judging from your previous statements, I wouldn't want to tell you diddly squat. Especially if you nitpick and act like you are so much better than others.

Let's be honest, toddlers are the worst. Those tiny humans are needy and they want your constant attention and then they need your help doing everything. They are so lazy. Then they have the nerve to cry and throw tantrums and be ungrateful. And you just want to ask them, 'What have you done for me lately?'"

Are you a freaking idiot? They are BABIES! What the hell do you expect them to do?! "What have you done for me lately?" wow. I feel horrible or anyone and everyone who knows you because you sound like a total asshole. Not to mention you were PROUD that you just scared your niece because she was doing what all babies do. That kid is gonna grow up with serious mental problems if she is around you very long. #sorrynotsorry

I could go on and on about the complete and total bull crap I read, but for the sake of my sanity, I won't. It's appalling. I really can't believe this was published in all honesty. This is beyond petty and pathetic. Only place this "book" belongs is on a burn pile. Haha

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Optimists Die First by Susin Nielsen

Synopsis

Title: Optimists Die First
Author: Susin Nielsen
Genre: YA/Mental Illnesses
My Rating: 5/5




Beware: Life ahead.
Sixteen-year-old Petula de Wilde is anything but wild. A former crafting fiend with a happy life, Petula shut herself off from the world after a family tragedy. She sees danger in all the ordinary things, like crossing the street, a bug bite, or a germy handshake. She knows: life is out to get you.
The worst part of her week is her comically lame mandatory art therapy class with a small group of fellow misfits. Then a new boy, Jacob, appears at school and in her therapy group. He seems so normal and confident, though he has a prosthetic arm; and soon he teams up with Petula on a hilarious project, gradually inspiring her to let go of some of her fears. But as the two grow closer, a hidden truth behind why he’s in the group could derail them, unless Petula takes a huge risk. . . 


My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review. 

I adore this book! I I am so glad I read it. I honestly didn't think it would be thus good. 

When I first started, it was really hard for me to get into and the "former best friend" thing got annoying really fast. But the more I read, the more I related to Petula. It felt like the author stalked my life and stuck it in a book. Lol

I'm not understanding how people keep saying this book makes a mockery of mental illness and that she was magically healed when she met a guy... It didn't happen like that at all. 

Honestly, it's a hearbreaking mind numbing heartwarming story that shows us no matter what we are going through or have been through, we can get through it and there is always someone there to help even if we don't realize it. 
When somthing traumatic happens, it's not just something you get over. It alters you in so many ways and it is so hard to open up to anyone. It's really hard to admit you need help. But if you have the right people like Petula did, anything is possible. Jacob helped her so much. Oh my gosh I'm so thankful for his character. I admit I did get mad close to the end when the rug got ripped out from under our feet, I didn't blame Petula for being mad. I would have done the same thing. But I'm glad they got past it. They are perfect for each other. Where one is weak, the other is strong and helps. 

When traumatic things happen, people tend to move away to start fresh... Personally, I think Jacob was Petula's fresh start. Which is why she trusted him and he was able to help her get over her fears. He wasn't there when it happened so she didn't see him as someone judging her all these years..... I think it's safe to say I love their relationship lol

I loved all the diversity of characters. None were alike in anyway and that couldn't have been an easy task to write about. But Susin did it. Lol

The only character I hated with a passion is Rachel. All through the book we know her as the former best friend... But later Petula tries to make amends and it works till someone calls them freaks... Suddenly she's not sure she can be friends with Petula. Not to mention Rachel gets butthurt when she doesn't want to go back to her house. Like really? You have a perfect family while hers is going through hell and you're gonna be a hero about it. I felt like Rachel only wanted to be friends when it was convenient for her. Because she would literally blow in straight out of the blue and leaves you wondering "what in the hell are you doing here? Don't you have hair to bleach and a mall to shop at or something?" She's like one of those girls that'll smoke in your face, say they'll never tell so you spill all your secrets then everyone knows about them the next day. 

There really isn't much else to say about this book. Once you start reading you won't want to stop. It's a perfect pace that keeps you sucked in and so vivid that it's like you're living the book. I would definitely recommend this. I wish I could rate more than 5 stars.

Tuesday, February 7, 2017

Beauty and the Beast: Lost in a Book by Jennifer Donnelly

Synopsis

Title: Lost in a Book
Author: Jennifer Donnelly
Genre: YA/Retelling
My Rating: 5+/5


An original addition to the beloved Beauty and the Beast fairy tale, Lost in a Book follows the lonely, bookish Belle as she finds an enchanted book in the Beast’s library called Nevermore that carries her into a glittering new world. There, Belle is befriended by a mysterious countess who offers her the life she’s always dreamed of.
But Nevermore is not what it seems, and the more time Belle spends there, the harder it is to leave. Good stories take hold of us and never let us go, and once Belle becomes lost in this book, she may never find her way out again.
This deluxe hardcover novel expands upon the beautiful story and world seen in the new Walt Disney Studios' film, Beauty and the Beast.





My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars

Oh.... Oh my gosh.

Astonishing! This has got to be the best retelling I have EVER read. I am in tears.
This book was phenomenal! All retellings I have ever read tend to plat close to the chest and not change very much... or change it all together so the original gets lost. 
But... Beauty and the Beast: Lost in a Book totally changed AND challenged them all. It's a one of a kind! 

I will say this, I pre-ordered it the SECOND I knew about it. Being a fanatic of Beauty and the Beast there is no possible way I could pass this up. The waiting game drove me insane but it was TOTALLY WORTH IT! I mean it is so epic, even halfway through the book I told my local library they HAD to buy a copy for others to read. 

The story line was unexpected and so different I really didn't think it would work. Boy oh boy. I was wrong. Jennifer Donnelly has some SERIOUS talent. I have a feeling if someone tried to one up this book, they would fail. 

The writing was awesome and flowed so perfectly that there is no way you would want to put it down and if someone made you, you would possibly beat them over the head with the book WHILE reading it. It is just that awesome. Lol

The characters were so strong and so powerful that you bond over a whole new level. Just being smoldering, sexy, sassy like Death. Sweet, charming, and beautiful like Love. Adventurous, strong, and bookwormy like Belle ... I mean the list goes on. Even Beast, Chip, and the rest of the gang is so powerful that you not only feel what they fell, you ARE them. 

Ugh stop reading my review and go by this book! RIGHT NOW! What are you still reading for!? YOU NEED THIS BOOK! Go! Go get it! 

(Also....can I please rate HIGHER than 5 stars! It deserves more!)




Quotes
—"Your always look for the worst in people," said Love reproachfully.
"And I always find it," Death said, [...]

—"Love is not for cowards."

—"Life ends. But love? Love lives forever."

—"Love is so strong, so ferocious, that she frightens even me. Me, Belle. A woman who strolls through battlefields and sick houses. Who takes tea with executioners."

—"If the countess was Death, then Death was a cheat."