Friday, January 13, 2017

The Marked by Emerald Barnes

Synopsis

Title: The Marked
Series: Knight's Academy Book 1
Author: Emerald Barnes
Genre: YA/Paranormal
My Rating: 5/5


Myka Williams has never fit in with her peers, and although her adoptive parents are loving and supportive, she feels most at home alone in the woods.
When she's offered a full scholarship to Knight's Academy in the Smoky Mountains of Tennes-see, she takes the opportunity for a fresh start. She soon learns that Knight’s Academy is more than just a school. Within the stone walls of the institution, humans and vampires are mixing, and their offspring are going unnoticed.
As Myka falls prey to the evil plan of the school, she makes a chilling discovery about her own heritage and realizes that she’s at the Academy for more than just an education. Myka must yield to her birthright at the risk of losing everyone she loves or succumb to the fate that Knight’s Academy has in store for her—a fate worse than death.




My Thoughts
★★★★★+++ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
I actually finished this book way earlier today but am still sitting here not sure what to say. 
It really ins't that often you come across a book that makes you want to write the whole review in gifs because words fail you, so if I use to many gifs, I am sorry, words fail me right now over how awesome this book is. Lol

The Marked is one of those rare books that you literally don't want to put down. It is also one that makes you want to scream your head off when people keep bugging you while you read it.
Ohhh how I wanted to read this all in one sitting but I forced myself to take breathers before my head exploded or I end up throwing my book.

When I first started this book, I thought it had a Vampire Knight mood/setting but, after a while, that changed. The writing was so fluid. The only thing I really had trouble with was the intro. I felt it gave away to much to soon but I don't think it is enough to make someone quit, just makes them a bit curious of "Will this come out like all the others or will this be different?" As someone who has read a lot of these kinds of books, this is different. Oddly enough you think one person will be the bad guy, only to find out, yeah, he is a bad guy but then Preston walks right the heck in. And if this guy does NOT make you want to rip his head off, then you might slightly be a psycho. (jk...maybe. lol)
I mean from the second you mean Preston, you just get this creeper vibe, like really bro?

"He wrapped his arm around her waist [...]"



Preston took her hand in his and led her to the cafeteria.



and the infamous bad guy line:
You're mine.

Oh reeeeeaaaaalllllly, home skillet. You think so?



And that is just a few of the many many many cringe worthy, anger filling moments. 

But then there is Milo, there is so much I want to say here but the one thing that conquers all every time I think about his character is Kiss the Girl and Your Body Is A Wonderland, Which I actually made a joke to the author talking about a remix song "Kiss the Wonderland" lol

I did expect more from Milo though. I felt like his character lacked just a little bit. But, since book two is still in the works, I'm sure it's just building up his character.


Myka's parents got on my nerves. I won't lie. They seemed more like teenage siblings than her parents. Which made me question them every time they come on the set. Her dad seemed to complain a lot, but eh. I rolled with it. It wasn't until the mom stepped in and was trying to buy her a dress that in my opinion made Myka seem like a total whore. Her mom was to much like a "best friend" even being rebellious to her own husband who didn't like the dress nor wanted to buy the dress.... story short, she got the dress. OH! I know who she reminds me of! Regina George's mother!



Ugh this book was bloody brilliant though. Honestly. From start to finish. Full of surprises. I really would recommend this book.

Friday, January 6, 2017

Lesbian Zombies from Outer Space by Jave Galt-Miller, Wayne A. Brown

Synopsis

Title: Lesbian Zombies from Outer Space #1
Series: Lesbian Zombies from Outer Space
Author: Jave Galt-Miller
Genre: Erotica/Horror/SyFy/Mature/Comic/Graphic Novel/Adult
My Rating: 5/5

Get issue #1 of the zom-com limited-series comic where fantasy turns to nightmare. Ace just wants to film his buddy's threesome, but suddenly all the girls in town are transforming into lesbian zombies. And these girls are not looking for brains. He'll have to team with an unlikely friend to run for his life and stop the funniest, sexiest apocalypse you've ever seen. Sometimes when Hot Girls make out - it's Evil! --Mature Content




My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.

I can honestly say I have never read anything like this before in my life. When I was asked to read it, I have to admit, I stared at the email for 10 minutes wondering if I should be like "Um, noooo" or take a chance on something new.

Glad I took a chance. But y'all, I am dead laughing. Also, I think my fiance is traumatized. I read this while he was by me and lets say, by the time he was curious what I was reading and looked, it had done gotten bloody... The look on his face was priceless. *rofl*

Anywho, this is not my kind of read at all, but it was still great. Lol. I thought the drawings were awesome and I thought the writing and the storyline was interesting. It keeps you drawn in, even if that reason is "Who the hell comes up with this stuff!?" Not to mention the action was awesome... in more ways that one *manic laugh mwahahahha* XD (you'd have to read it to get it) 

I really wouldn't call this a comic, but I would call it more of a graphic novel. That's just me though. 
If you are well over 18 and looking for a rare interesting read, I would recommend this. lol


***AGES 18 AND UP***

Tuesday, January 3, 2017

The Isle of the Lost by Melissa de la Cruz

Synopsis

Title: The Isle of the Lost
Series: Descendants #1
Author: Melissa de la Cruz
Genre: MG/YA/Fantasy
My Rating: 3/5

Twenty years ago, all the evil villains were banished from the kingdom of Auradon and made to live in virtual imprisonment on the Isle of the Lost. The island is surrounded by a magical force field that keeps the villains and their descendants safely locked up and away from the mainland. Life on the island is dark and dreary. It is a dirty, decrepit place that's been left to rot and forgotten by the world.
But hidden in the mysterious Forbidden Fortress is a dragon's eye: the key to true darkness and the villains' only hope of escape. Only the cleverest, evilest, nastiest little villain can find it...who will it be?



My Thoughts
★★★ Stars
My heart....is shattered. 

I had such high hopes for this book! I mean, I have fangirled over this book since it first came out, I wanted it so bad. Now, I wish I was still in the shadows, living in book ignorance. 
It was a okay book, don't get me wrong. But it lacked so much. I loved all the characters except Mal. 
AND MAL IS NORMALLY MY FAVORITE!!! So how cruddy is that!
I felt like she was not a strong character here. If anything, she whined way to much. She's all talk and no action. It bugged me so many people feared her when she did nothing at all. From how she talks, she would be terrified if someone actually challenged her. 
I feel like the other characters were more stronger than Mal was, which doesn't make sense because Mal is really the actual main character. 

I love how the story went back and explained so much though, it helps the movie make sense. (Yeah, yeah, I know. I saw the movie first *gasp in horror* aaaaand the movie was better IMO)

Melissa de la Cruz is really a good author, but in every book I have read from her, something is missing from them all. That extra punch, the "UMPH!" But yet she always writes well enough so keep readers coming back. It's truly a rare talent. 

I can't wait to get my hands on book 2.

Thursday, December 29, 2016

SeQuence (The Heart of the Ocean #1) by Lorraine M.L.M.

Synopsis

Title: SeQuence
Series: The Heart of the Ocean #1
Author: Lorraine M.L.M.
Genre: YA/Fantasy
My Rating: 1/5


Alessia Appleton is desperate. She's desperate to silence the voices inside her head, but being committed to an island asylum has only made them worse. Still, at least there's the ocean. Water is the one thing that blocks Alessia from hearing the thoughts of those around her. Complete submersion is her only relief. So, when she gets the chance to escape her wardens and the voices, Alessia takes it. She dives into the sea and a giant wave drags her under.
When she comes to, one thing is clear--either Alessia's completely lost her mind, or she's not on Earth anymore.
Instead, she finds herself in a world with two moons, a complex undersea society, a long-lost grandmother, and a drool-worthy young man named Dante Erajion. However, it doesn't take long for Alessia to realise that a new world comes with all kinds of new rules and new problems. In Zeneshia sequence takes precedence over chance, and Alessia's arrival has set off the Foretold Sequence of Hearts, shifting the future to a dire series of choices between Life, Love, and Death.




My Thoughts
★ Star
I received this book in return for an honest review.

I must start this off with-Never judge a book by it's cover.

I tried so hard to like this book, I really did. But in the end, I was begging for it to hurry up and end.

I love the cover, it is so beautiful and draws you in. The story has so much promise and potential but still lacked (I here to use this word but I can't think of any other word to use) freshness.

I felt while the story had a different setting, the storyline had been used before.
The writing was so choppy it drove me up the wall and had me ready to rip my hair out. One second ages here, the next shes mikes from there and talking to 10 different people. I can't tell you how many times I openly said "where the hell did they come from?" 
Also about the writing, there was way to much detailing
I get some people like that, I personally, do not. It makes the book boring to me. But you know what they say, you can't please everyone. 

I think the book has room for improvement.

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Bookmarky Bookmark



Etsy Boookmarky Bookmark


I normally don't spend money on bookmarks. Usually just keep reading until I am done or use a torn notepad paper or... well, anything. (other bookworms will get what I mean. Lol)
I came across Boookmarky on Etsy though Facebook, I believe. Anywho, I ended up sharing and showing a friend of mine a while back and over time, I couldn't get it out of my head and how amazing the bookmarks look. So, I checked out the page again and saw a Beauty and the Beast. I could not resist that and HAD to buy it.
Look at this amazingness! I am so in love with this bookmark and pin! It is wonderfully put together and very sturdy and durable. It is definitely worth the price (not much at all!) and it got here so fast, I really wasn't expecting to get it till January but it got here just a few days after I ordered it.

I would recommend getting bookmarks from Boookmarky, they have TONS of other kinds for other fandoms as well. Get your bookmark HERE.

Monday, December 19, 2016

Interview with Kelly D Smith


Welcome!!


Let's kick off this interview~

Could you tell us about Rock Stars aren’t for Country Girls?
Rock Stars aren’t for Country Girls was a bit of a treat for myself. And to everyone else, because I mean – who doesn’t want to know what could go wrong (or really, really right) when a rock star falls in love with a country girl. I’d love to tell you everything but instead, I’d rather let my writing speak for itself. So, here is a free excerpt. Scroll passed the buy link. It’s there, I promise!

What inspired you most to start writing this one?
I’m a country-rock-girl and I wanted to play with the idea that rock and country have to clash. But what would happen if you put a rock star and a country girl together- hence the name. Rock stars are fun, and country girls can be a handful- there is no doubt about that! So I just saw so many ways that these two could really keep each other on their feet!

Can we look forward to any more installments or other new books?
I’m sure hoping so! So far, we have four boys in the bad, and only three of them have girlfriends! Also there may be plans for a gay band manager that I’m super excited to work on and just haven’t found the time for.

For new readers, what book do you recommend they start with?
Start with whatever one floats your boat the most! These are all part of a series but they can be read as a standalone. The further into the series you go, the more girlfriends you find- the first one can be read after the third!
If you like a story where the heroine denies her feelings for the hero because of a bad past relationship and the hero proves her wrong: Rock Stars are Trouble
If you like a girl who wants a hookup and maybe a FWB but has the hero prove they could be more: Rock Stars are Fun
If like a story about family, love, and rock and roll- with some sex: Rock Stars aren’t for Country Girls.

What is something you'd want readers to take away from your books?
Well, most of all I want them to feel like they didn’t waste their time! But other than that, I want them to take away a sense of connection with my main character (Any of them in this series). My girls always work really hard, even though they are dating rock stars and there is no doubt, these guys help in their own way but I didn’t want the girls to be lazy, or one dimensional. They have flaws, they have insecurities, and they have their own dreams.
If that book were made into a movie, who would you have play the roles?
This is a tough one and I was just asked it. I think Taylor Momsen would be amazing for the roll. She’s already got that rock and roll vibe that I would love to see. As for the male, I don’t know. I’d love to see someone lesser known.

What was the first book you ever wrote and what age did you start it?
The first book I finished, I was 15. Before that I’d been writing 3 years.

What is the most challenging thing you have to deal with when writing?
Somedays it’s writing, others it’s finding a publisher, still others it is marketing or networking or editing. It all depends on the day.

How do you deal with writers block?
I write through it, normally. Or plotting if I’m really having trouble.

When writing, do you just let the words flow or do you start with an outline?
This all depends on what I’m doing. If I’m writing a thriller, I want to have an idea of where it is going. If it’s just a light, fluffy romance then I might see where it takes me. If I’m driving and I have some really great ideas, I’ll use that as a plot.

On average, how many words do you write a day?
Depends on the day mostly! I try to get at least 30,000 words done but because I often juggle 4-5 writing jobs (some one time and some long term and one always being my own work) I have to shift things around to make sure things get done in time. That is the most important thing to me!


Rock Stars Aren't For Country Girls

Anna Helbern, a country girl through and through, never expects to find anything in common with a rock star—boy is she wrong.
Adam Cooper doesn’t get what it is about this girl, maybe it’s her passion for music, or maybe it’s that damn tattoo she has. Whatever it is, when he asks her to do a country album with him (something no one would expect from the world’s most popular rock band) she agrees, and they head to LA—together.
Anna won’t give up her dream, and if a rock star is what’s going to make it happen, she’ll take the chance. But when she gets to LA, she can’t believe the ride she’s on, and soon it becomes clear that she doesn’t want to get off any time soon.
Goodreads link||Author Page

Sunday, December 18, 2016

Chillz Hillz #1: The Bad Babysitter by Kerrigan Valentine

Synopsis

Brad whines.He fights.He does terrible things with his boogars.Andrew is tired of his little brother. But when their family moves to the strange city of Chills Hills and Brad goes to a new babysitter, he comes back . . . different. Almost robotic. All he wants to do now is chores and homework.Mom and Dad think he’s just growing up. But Andrew knows something is very wrong, and it all started on that day at Mrs. Dritch’s house. There is dark magic at work here. His investigation leads him closer and closer to the truth . . . but also into the heart of danger.



My Thoughts
★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
I thought this was an interesting short read. There really isn't much to say about it other than I feel like I have read it already.
This book was very well written and had just enough to keep you interested, I just feel it was to much like a Goosebumps/Are You Afraid of the Dark knock off. 
The "stories" within this story were actually from both of those. The "bike" story was on Are You Afraid of the dark. The class blob actually reminded me of the blob from one of the Goosebumps book.

Saturday, December 17, 2016

In the After (In the After, #1) by Demitria Lunetta

Synopsis

They hear the most silent of footsteps.
They are faster than anything you've ever seen.
And They won't stop chasing you...until you are dead.
Amy is watching TV when it happens, when the world is attacked by Them. These vile creatures are rapidly devouring mankind. Most of the population is overtaken, but Amy manages to escape—and even rescue “Baby,” a toddler left behind in the chaos. Marooned in Amy’s house, the girls do everything they can to survive—and avoid Them at all costs.
After years of hiding, they are miraculously rescued and taken to New Hope, a colony of survivors living in a former government research compound. While at first the colony seems like a dream with plenty of food, safety, and shelter, New Hope slowly reveals that it is far from ideal.And Amy soon realizes that unless things change, she’ll lose Baby—and much more. 


My Thoughts
★★★★★++ Stars

I AM FREAKING OUT RIGHT NOW!!!
Why did I wait so long to read this book? This is be best book I have read in a LOOOOONG time. I am seriously obsessed with this book and need book two! Right now! I need to know what happens next! Also, Can I just say, I never wanted to put this book down. I literally started this book to be a "read in between books", little did I know, it made me put down every other book I was reading, it drew me in so well.

I thought In The After was written brilliantly! I can't say I loved all the characters, but I love how each and every one was written. You connect to every single one of them... even if you really wish you didn't. Lol 

The setting was so freaking realistic as well. So the story didn't just draw you in, it transported you there and YOU are Amy. There are a few times I thought I would pass out from hyperventilating or something but I literally could NOT put this book down. 

That ending killed me. It used my heart as a freaking chew toy, spat it out, and stomped on the remains. I couldn't deal!!! (would this mean I would be sent to the Ward? *shudders in fear*)
I demand to know what happens next!!! I'll go nuts if I don't find out soon. I hope justice prevails! 

*Few Characters*
Amy; I thought she was very mature for her age. I admit when she first comes onto the scene, she seemed like one of those snobby uppty people that make you want to go "Mean girls" on em. But once the world goes to crap, she really steps up and blows you away.

Baby; She is such a mystery. Even by the end of the book, I'm left wanting to know more about her. I am so attached, I think I would squall my eyes out if anything happened to her.

Rice; Can't stand his name and up till the last chapter, I couldn't stand him. Even now, I am honestly still a bit wary of him. I am not sure why, I just feel like he might not can be trusted fully.

Amber; I don't think I have ever wanted to punch someone so hard in my life. She got off way to freaking easy. Yes, I read the book, I know her outcome, I still think she got off to easy. Heck! I even think letting her be Florae bait/chow would be to easy for her. I really hate her. I know it's the end of the world, but there are just lines you do NOT cross, especially when a baby is involved. She is just plain trashy!

Kay; Omg, be my friend. Please. Train me! She is so freaking awesome and kick butt! How could you NOT like her!?

Amy's mother; I am so conflicted. I hated her through the whole book up until literally the last part of the book with the last conversation Amy and her have. Then I understand why she did some of the things she did. Still ticks me off though so I guess I can say, I don't hate her, but I don't like her either. Also I guess you could say, if she was eaten, "ehhhhh that sucks, moving on!" would probably be my only remark. Unless she redeems herself in book two.

Dr Reynolds; Could you be any more sadistic, you pansy!? There is absolutely nothing to like about this scumbag! What could possibly drive a person to be so cruel and twisted? I mean really! Though I am sure if the real world ended, there would be tons of Dr Reynolds.... It's depressing. Any who. He is on the same level as Amber in my opinion. I can't stand either of them. 


All in all, In The After blew me away and rocked my socks! Lol Would defiantly highly recommend.

Thursday, December 15, 2016

Shadows of the Forest by Emma Michaels

Synopsis

Everyone is dying to live in the Shadows of the Forest.
They gave me three rules to follow in exchange for my brother’s life:
1. Do not enter the West Wing;
2. Do not go outside after darkness falls; and
3. There is only one exit; The Gates.
This is what happened when I broke them…




My Thoughts
★★ Jumbled Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.

The cover is so freaking amazing and the blurb drew me in and that is where the awesome stops.
I feel the book is very full of potential but going no where fast. 
This book was extremely cluttered and when a character was talking, I had no idea who was talking half the time. I felt zero connection to any of these characters, it offered little to no actually information. 
It was so hard to get into and dang near drove me crazy. One second she is here then the next line, she is somewhere else. I know the fox is brought up a lot but there is no information on him, the book goes straight into talking about him as if the reader is suppose to know already, come to think of it, it talks about all characters as if you are already suppose to know them and what has all happened to them. 
If gives you juuuuust enough information to know their names and know they had a crappy childhood, but that is it. Even though they talk about the mother a lot, you still wonder more about her. 
I guess you can say it offers way to much information about pointless things and hardly mentions anything you NEED to know and it really puts you off.
I feel it has a lot of potential, it just needs to be sorted out better.

Friday, December 9, 2016

Sucktown, Alaska by Craig Dirkes

Synopsis
Looking for a great adventure, eighteen-year-old Eddie Ashford stumbles into a job as a reporter in tiny Kusko, Alaska, a place so remote that bush planes are the only way in or out. When the job and the place, which sits on the flat and desolate tundra and not in the stunning mountains he'd imagined, turn out to be disappointments, Eddie thinks maybe it's time to bail. But three things tie him there: 1) Taylor, a girl who might be a little too pretty and a little too smart for him; 2) Finn, a new friend who is an all-around good dude but also happens to be a small-time pot dealer; and 3) Eddie's empty wallet, which means he can't afford to transport himself and his possessions back to civilization. Despite every good-guy instinct inside him, Eddie flirts with trouble as he tries to find a way home.


My Thoughts
★ Male Chauvinist Star
I received this book in return for an honest review.
DNF at 38%

There is so much wrong with this book and it disgusts me. The writing is horrible, he talks in slang a good bit and lets face it, that's just not good grammar. Lol The main character seems to whine NON FREAKING STOP!!! Okay, we get it, you are a low life who flunked out and you took a job in Alaska in the middle of nowhere. Also, lying to your parents, who think you are still at college, so they can't help you even if you needed it. So who's fault is it really? YOURS!! So stop looking down your nose at all these other people and how they live just because you haven't been there. You ain't so high and mighty.

And let me just say, this book belittles women and talks so horrible about them. If I wanted to keep hearing about tits, I would watch a porno or read smut.

Lets touch down on some real trouble, shall we. I mean, the REAL deal breakers.

Is there any certain reason you are trying to make the receptionist sound slow/stupid? Unable to make a complete total sentence?
"You go see Taylor Sifsof. Hold on."
•••
"Taylor in classroom studying while rest of students at lunch. You go to classroom. Room 107, just around corner."

What really made me sick with this book was the fact, he is grown, and suppose to be in college. But he has to report on a high schooler winning a spelling bee. The second he walks in to the school, he is wondering what the girl looks like. I'm sorry, does it matter? You are grown, she is still in school.  Oh but it gets so much worse! He meets her and the total disgusting man slob comes out.

Ho. Lee. Shit.
Standing there might have been the hottest girl I'd seen. Ever. Anywhere on TV, in person, in a magazine, in a movie, on a billboard. My ding dong went from zero to boner faster than a car's airbag can deploy. I untucked my red flannel shirt to hide it.

Really dude? That is just freaking nasty! Also, can we say JAIL BAIT! This guy is making me sick to my stomach. But wait! THERE IS MORE!


The girl looked exotic. I couldn't pinpoint her lineage. Whatever she was, it amounted to a luscious mishmash of every female physical characteristic I held dear. Tall? Check. Long, straight blond hair, Check. Olive skin? Check. Pouty lips? Check. Hint of buttchin? Check. Big bombs? Che-actually, I couldn't tell. The light-blue sweater she wore was too bulky. But with how perfect the rest of her was, it was fair to assume she was hiding a nice rack of sleeper boobs under there.


Wow, dude, do you have a shopping list or something? Male? Check. Totally freaking moron? Check. Making me sick to my stomach? Check. Pedophile vibes? Right on target, check. 
I'm sorry, could you be any more sleazy. I can see his future now. One of those 30/40year old hound dog looking guys with a huge beer gut that hasn't showered in months and reeks of alcohol and cigarettes while hitting on teen girls. Excuse me while I vomit.


AND. IT. GETS. WORSE.

"Perky pooper? Check."
Are you freaking serious. Who the hell says that? Ugh dude, nasty. 

And there is MORE, but I won't flood this review with more of the gross quotes. Because it is pointless. It was a waste of my time, I'm not going to post them and waste YOUR time to reading them.


"I was impressed by a pastor using the word 'sack'."
Are you 12 years old? Grow up. Good gah.



And can we take a moment to talk about the whole "seeing red" thing over a girl he is not dating, a girl who is not old enough for him to even LEGALLY date. This just screams "You are mine and mine alone and if you try to leave, I will kill you." kind of thing. Stalker alert. I repeat. Stalker alert. 


Aaaand because he got rejected he just decides to boohoo and become a drug dealer. Nice. I drew the line here. It's getting to stupid, I had to stop reading.

This book is a joke and honestly this book makes me think the author is a real pig, especially if he keeps on and on and on about tits, hard ons, poopers, boners, and more tits. 

I would never in a million years recommend this trash.

This book is great bathroom material.....you know.....for our "perky poopers".


***Added note: I wrote this review as I went through the book because, how could I not. It does mention that his age is 18 waaaaaay later in the story, it still doesn't make it right for him to hit on a girl who is underage and still in school.

Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Something (Wisteria 1) by Shelby Lamb

Synopsis
“I will find true love and everything will be okay. I will find true love and everything will be okay…” she chanted.
They say be careful what you read. Something is wrong. Something is very wrong. It can happen to anyone. This is just four teenagers’ story. Aubrey Golding hates her face, her body, and is devastated after Nathan Silva leaves her. Alone, suicidal, and desperate for love, she discovers a book called Something and unknowingly links others to a dark and terrifying curse that is beginning to consume her. Nathan is glad to be moving on with someone new and can hardly believe what is happening now. Wild child and amateur porn star, Bella Broadhurst, loves bullying that “emo whore” Aubrey with the other girls, but mostly she loves partying, hookups, and plain ol’ drama when terror arises. And Kendra Coke is just a new teen mother working on a delicate relationship when things start becoming utterly bizarre. Chilling sleep disturbances and figures hiding in the corners of their rooms are just warnings of what is to come. Be careful what you read, they say. Tread carefully.


My Thoughts
★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
DNF at 52%.

I tried so hard to like this book and try to get into it. I really did. I kept waiting for this book to get better and for SOMETHING to happen... but you can only take so much, right?

Right off the bat you are stated off on like 4 characters introduced way to fast that it makes your head spin and while you are trying to separate them and get a feeling of who they are, more characters keep coming in and you are overloaded on details that really are unnecessary because you can clearly tell it is a side character. 
Even at 52%, I know the characters but have to sit here and think "this is who this is, no.. wait... that was the pregnant one... I think?

That just takes away from the book for me because I spend was to much time trying to remember who is who.

And all of the characters seem the same to me. They all sound like 12 year olds boohooing over life that hasn't even started for them. I get teen angst, I do. We have all been there before but this .... really just makes you want to drown them to not only end their suffering, but yours as well, anything to just shut them up. And when I say they all sound the same, I mean I see barely a difference in personality. They all seem to hate each other, why? No idea. I don't think it even tells you. 

It's a never ending drama-fest. Which also takes away from the book IMO. It just seems like to much. You need to mix it up and have a few jokes or something in there otherwise I don't think anyone can really enjoy the story.... The reader will just stay tense all the time.


And I have to say I am sorry I had to stop reading, but the deal breaker was the line "Nathan went first, without saying goodbye, something that caused her great Jesus-on-the-cross type of pain."
You might feel a lot of pain in your life, but you will never know Jesus's pain. He went through that so you didn't have to. 
That is just my thoughts though. I'm sure a lot of people will disagree with me, but to each their own.

Thursday, August 4, 2016

In Another Life by Carys Jones

Synopsis

Pans Labyrinth meets Once Upon A Time in this fantasy thriller from Carys Jones
Returning home one weekend Marie Schneider’s life changes forever when her car collides with a lorry on the motorway and she is left fighting for her life. Whilst in a coma, Marie awakens in the fantastical world of Azriel which appears to be right out of the pages of a Fairy Tale book. Here, Marie learns that she is their long lost Princess North, and that Azriel is where she truly belongs.
When Marie eventually wakes from her coma her thoughts of Azriel are still very present in her mind and she struggles to adjust to her 'normal' life. Everyone around her insists that Azriel is just a figment of her imagination but as she tries to recover from her wounds people start approaching her on the street, insisting that Azriel needs her and that she must return there at once.
Confused, Marie tries to discover which reality is the right one. Could she truly be a long lost princess from another world or is she just losing her mind? As the world of Azriel starts to creep in to her current life it gets harder for her to ignore that perhaps she really is Azriel's Princess after all...


My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
Move over John Green, Carys Jones is coming through!
I found this book very interesting, but when it said "Pans Labyrinth meets Once Upon A Time" I honestly didn't see that... But that is a different story. Lol
I am trying to write this review with no spoilers, but I have noooo idea how! lol
In Another Life was very well written and kept me wondering what would happen next. 
Just when I thought I knew what was going to happen, something happened that completely threw me off. It really kept you guessing wondering what was real and what wasn't.

That ending really killed me though. I wasn't expecting that and I cried like a baby.


I liked Marie, but the rest of the characters really ticked me off. I thought her parents were over pushy. They wanted her to be better, I get that, but the second she was out of the hospital they wanted her to be better then and there. And sorry, but it doesn't work like that. And okaying the reporter to come without even asking her first really made me mad at her mama.
Sebastian ... is just crap. I hated him with a passion. It seemed like every time he did something douchy, "I love you" was brought up. Reminds me of one of those abusive relationships. He wasn't abusive or anything, he was just a super jerk and not supportive at all. 
All in all, it was a really good book and I would recommend it. 

Friday, July 29, 2016

YES, I NAMED MY DAUGHTER GAYLORD FOCKER. SO FOCKING WHAT!: (OVER 1,000 REAL NAMES OF REAL PEOPLE, ALL WEIRD) by Joseph Joel

Synopsis

This book is unusual because it is real. But, it may be the world’s first unbook. There is little narration. It is a book of lists. There are few bona fide jokes unless you think that it is funny for a parent to name her kid, “Martina Moron.”
Now, consider this information:
Outraged customer ahead of me in a store. Unreasonable business associate. Nothing that a good chuckle can’t cure.
If you pay attention, you can learn a lot about people. Some of it is obvious. Some of it is bizarre.
Now, about the obvious: Everybody has a name, and everybody can relate to names. As a person who talks but especially listens a lot, I run into unusual and quirky names often. Santa Claus, Jesus Christ, Candy Cane, and Fruity McGill are among the people with odd names that I have met.
No way? Have you ever checked out the tattoos that people have? Each and every one them says something interesting and/or strange about that individual. Why can’t a name have the same purpose?
Anyway, this book has taken most of my life to write. I have written down the person’s name and verified it later. No name has been incorrectly reported in my fierce quest for accuracy.
I have learned that there is not a person alive who does not have or know somebody with a name that is atypical or weird. The waitress at my favorite diner is sure to remind me that her name is “Bippie,” and if I get it wrong and call her “Mippie” or “Blimpie,” I may find a fake fingernail in my lentil soup. Not really. She always does a professional job!
I met this wonderful woman named “Luna.” Her whole life, she was tormented by this first name. But worse, she hated that she was not given a middle name. While growing up, she would pin imaginary middle names on her bedroom curtain quite often. And, when she turned 21, she legally gave herself the middle name of “Delight.”
Now, the pronunciations may not be what some people might expect, but the spelling is what matters. For instance, “Moron” may have a Spanish or even a French pronunciation that we would not initially expect which is better than the “I am a dumbass” related pronunciation. But, the spelling is the same.
A part of the inspiration for the book is a custom-made license plate that I saw while walking on a lonely street in a city where I resided at the time. It said, “MORON.” Is that how that person wanted to be labeled and known? What was the thinking behind giving one’s car, and hence oneself, such a name? Or, was thinking even possible in this case? I, on the other hand, do not want to look stupid. Silly, outrageous, sarcastic, thorough, and funny are much more my style.
And, it was not long ago that I found a sign outside of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania that said “Shit Creek.” Does anybody want to go fishing?
Now, what inspired this whole book even more, however, is my love of movies. I saw Meet the Parents, in which the main character, played by Ben Stiller, is named “Gaylord Focker.” I learned that Jim Carrey came up with this name only for one of the producers to come to believe that there actually are three Gaylord Fockers in America, or at least this notion is what he believed. (I do not think that he researched this suspicion well.) In fact, the producer was wrong, or at least, I see no evidence of it. Nobody really has or had that name in real life. Everybody makes mistakes, even producers of hilarious movies. He will remain nameless. It is only fair. Ha ha!
Anyway, it was just too much──the combination of the name "Gaylord Focker” and seeing bizarre names on an infrequent basis in my social life and business life──that propelled me into the huge research project that evolved into this delightful, irreverent, and funny, but even somewhat educational, book. Not too educational, however. Let’s be real. This book is the paper or computer wire version of the fart. It is nothing groundbreaking, brilliant, or special. It doesn’t even smell good.
Still, you can believe me: you will see people in a different light



My Thoughts
★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
It was a short read. I'll give it that and only that.

I think this book was written in bad taste. I know it was meant to be a funny thing, but to me it wasn't. I think it was cruel. I knew it would be a list of names, but I also kinda hoped that maybe it was people he had actually met. Not ones he came across at random or online. 

There are quiet a few well known names, like my favorites, Forest Gump and Clark Kent..... Why were their names on this list? I find no humor in them unless you are going by Forest's movie. Even then, it's not all that funny. A man who didn't let his disabilities stop him from experiencing and loving life. 
Clark Kent, Superman, a HERO. 
I wonder how many other's are on this list who are actual heros. Not just heros in books, but actually war heros.... The thought of that actually makes me angry.

What also makes me angry is if Joseph Joel knew my last name, or even my friend's last name, I KNOW me and her both would be on that list. Why wouldn't they be? They are both a target on our back since the first days of school. *smh* 

The more I read, the more I realized I really really really didn't like this "book" and saw how cruel it was and realized that this is just a "book" making fun of people. What's next? A book of "funny" stories about people's disabilities?

I had high hopes that this book would give me a laugh. It didn't. It left me angry and disappointed.

Friday, July 15, 2016

Summoning the Demon by Kelly D. Smith

Synopsis

Alyssa doesn’t like to ask for help, but when fighting zombies, sometimes a witch needs a little backup. So she summons a demon. Falan Farrelly, demon. Alyssa wouldn’t have survived the night without him, but is that the only reason she wants to summon him again?
Falan isn’t used to chasing imps out of old lady’s yards or getting rid of demons, but there is something about this witch that makes him unable to resist.





My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
I am SO ashamed it took me this long to read a 15 page book! Good Lord, I should be shot (not really, please.)
I did start this book about a month ago, I think.... Though it may have actually been a lot longer because so much has been going on that all my books I need to read are scattered everywhere but that is beside the point.
This book scared the hell out of me. (haha nice pun) I'm so into this book then BAM the summoning scene (the first one) ... I don't know what it is or what but it gave me nightmares for literally WEEKS. I could not pick this book up again because I would shudder and feel so uneasy about it. 

But I really owed it to the author to finish the book because she is awesome and she deserves a review. 

So all terror aside, there was a part in the book:
"Oh, I'm fine. Do you have the time to deal with those imps for me?" It had taken her a long time to come to terms with the fact that there were imps in her yard. She'd believed it the second I said it, had even gone on a rant about how they were the spawns of Hell. I didn't have the heart to tell her what they actually were. 

See what I mean? Alyssa says it had taken Rose a long time to come to terms that imps were in her yard, but yet then says the old lady believed her as soon as she told her. Also "It had taken her a long time to come to terms with the fact there were imps in her yard" then at the end of the paragraph says that she didn't have the heart to tell her what they really were...... but..... that is what they are. IMPS...... and to be fair the old lady was right, they are the spawns of Hell because they are also known as Satan's foot soldiers. 


I felt guilt ride up. I always hated this part. They looked so cute. 
Honestly, I always thought IMPs looked like this (lol) :



That being said, I think the story was great! It was a very interesting story line and keeps you sucked in and interested. Even after that time I wasn't reading it, it was still on my mind wondering what happens next. The writing is so awesome that it really feels like you are there and living that moment. Kelly is awesome at setting the scenes. That is not a easy thing to do but she managed to own it like a boss. lol

Monday, July 11, 2016

Candlelight by Stacy McWilliams

Synopsis
Life was full of nothing but darkness for Nathan Stevenson until Jasmine appeared in his life. She brought his innermost desires to the surface. She burned her way through to his heart to become embedded in his soul. He knew she was dangerous but would she break down his wall as he dreamed of her touch and fought against the impulse to protect her?Would their love be enough to defeat his demons? Was he strong enough to resist her or would her light burn irrevocably?




My Thoughts

★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
Oh my gah the urge to punch everyone in the throat is so freaking strong!

I loved loved loved this book and am so glad it was written! It is awesome to see more into Nate's life and wonder why he is such a bipolar blue waffle douchenozzle
Yet still leaves just enough space to make me want to stomp his balls into a mud puddle.


I really think this book should be read first before the others because I can almost guarantee if you read Luminosity first, you won't want to finish the series. At least this one opens the air a bit so you won't be so closed off.

What I really don't get is .... why Nate is all "human-y" when his sister does pretty much the same thing as he does. I don't know. It just works my nerve that all these get away with everything but if Nate farts crooked, his psychotic whore of a mother (Inner monologue: *gasps* that's not nice! Yeah, well, she is a demon. She is not nice either.) goes utterly and nonstop psycho. It is ridiculous. 

The main thing I was not to fond of was the overuse of the word "fuck". After a while, it seemed to actually take away from the story for me.

Ya know... I have dissed most of Nate's family but I haven't really said anything about the nutcase that calls himself a father.... Whoa. I mean, really. Wow. 

He HAD to be a hard character to write....Or maybe Stacy is just releasing her inner Satan. LOL!! but really. I don't get this man. It is so horrible to act "human"? whaaaaat?!

But yet he does human things every day. Job, Family, Providing for said family....At one point even told Nate to take up running to be kinda a coping thing to clear his head, but mother dearest gets a bug up her butt and suddenly daddy dearest and her both beat his brains in because he is to "human"? yeahhhhhh okay, whatever.

I still liked this book though and can't wait for the next book!

Tuesday, July 5, 2016

(Personal Post) RIP Nick

People keep asking me how I am doing... and for once, I am telling the truth. Im not okay and I dont think I will every be okay. This is hitting me just as hard as when I lost my mama. I lost touch with my cousin but we were still close.

I keep trying to make sense of all this, and I honestly cant. I cant stop asking why....Why him?

I cant help but to wonder if great musicains are cursed because it seems like all the great ones are taken from us way to early.


I miss Nick so much. He was my cousin and friend. I remember us and his brother playing in a dirt pile behind my aunts house. I remember us running through her garden as well where her corn stalks were..... Boooooooy, we got in trouble for that because we broke some of her stalks.
I remember our childhood swing that we all took turns on.
I remember my first time hunting with them..... I will never forget it.
It was horrible yet hilarious. From a sticker wacking me in the cheek and me screaming "Its in my eye!!" (managing to scare off everything to hunt) from wild horses cornering us and my aunt being scared out of her wits but me, Nick, and Jake just laughed. We bout died laughing when she picked up a big stick and started going "YA! YA! YA!" and the horses just looking at her like "is she serious?"
There are so many memries and not enough space on here to share them all.


He was such a amazing person though, Funny and wise.... man, was he wise. He was a old soul and smart as a whip.

Nick, we all love you and we will miss you dearly. Please hug my mama and Aunt S for me, will ya?

Nick is on the right.

On that note, author friends who are needing reviews from me, I am sorry, but they may take longer than the deadline. I need a break for a few days.....


Ignition by Stacy McWilliams

Synopsis

Ignition is book two in the Escaping Demons Saga and see's Nathan and Jasmine fight for their lives and to remain together.
Life has never been Easy for Jasmine Johnstone, but failing for Nathan Stevenson brings a whole new level of difficulty. He is sworn to kill her, and fights against his love for her more than ever, but he knows he can't live without her.
As they run from monsters, and each other, can their love survive?
Time begins to run out and with new friends and enemies in the strangest places, will they learn who to trust in time?
With their love stronger than ever, but forces pulling them apart, is love enough to keep them together or will Nathan's parents win and pull them apart?


My Thoughts
★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.

What the what!!!!
What kind of ending was that?!?!
It is amazing how much a book can piss you off so bad but keep you so drawn in that you NEED to know what happens next.
I'm still not sold on Nate. I still really hate him and think he is a big giant wussy. Now Jas on the other hand, I am really starting to like her. She is FINALLY stepping up. Took her freaking long enough. -_- I wonder if I am the only one who sees Claire Holt playing her though...

I honestly have no idea what I can really say about this book. It answered some questions but left me with so many more questions. Like, where did her powers come from? Who half of the characters were because they seemed to pop up out of nowhere but the main characters knew, them, which makes me think they were around at some point, but I just do not remember them :(

I expected more from this book. I liked it, don't get me wrong, but there just seemed to be something missing and I wanted the fight scenes to be more, they seemed to fall kinda flat.

When Lisa found out her big news, I won't lie, I was sad that we couldn't experience her excitement with her the second she found out, we had to find out later about it.

I can't wait for the next book. I need it and I need it now!!!

Thursday, June 30, 2016

Luminosity (Escaping Demons Saga) by Stacy McWilliams

Synopsis

Jasmine Johnstone's life was relatively normal until she was forced to live with the Stevenson family. As she stayed she found she had no choice but to battle mythical creatures. Strengths she never knew she possessed began to surface, surprising those around her. Her only chance of surviving the rising tide of evil was Nathan Stevenson. Could she really trust him as he fought against his love for her? With the world against them and time running out, would their love be enough to defeat demons?




My Thoughts
★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
I wanted to rate this book more than 3 stars. I really did. But there is just something about it. It just kept me so angry that I truly and honestly couldn't enjoy this book.
I can not for the life of me understand why she would put up with abuse from these people. Why wouldn't she fight back? She says so many times that she is going to fight back, and literally right after she says that, she ends up with a fist in her face.
.....It also left me with a lot more questions than answers. For example, why the social worker didn't see what was going on (unless she must have been one of the demons) or ...and I know this question is going to be really stupid, but... how is she getting money to buy things when she doesn't have a after school job and the family hates her.
And then there is her power of throwing a guy off her to the point he flies through the air.... wheeeeeere did that come from? O.o

I wanted to enjoy the book so much, and it kept me sucked in where I didn't want to put it down, but for the sake of my health and not flying off the handle and breaking my kindle, I had to put it down quite a lot. And even when I finished it, i had to sleep a while before I could even put my thoughts together.......yet they are still scattered. lol

I like the MC, I do. I want to see her grow. I want to see her fight back. I want so much for her, I really really really hope she doesn't keep letting bad things happen to her, I hope she kicks her demon guy to the curb and drowns him in Holy Water. 
I doubt that will happen though. Poor girl is on a one way trip to hell to satisfy a scummy demon. :(

Saturday, June 18, 2016

Delivered by Angels (Entertaining Angels, #3) by Emerald Barnes

Synopsis

Determined to escape her abusive father and drunken mother, Lexi Johnson turns to the blade to numb her pain, but it isn’t enough to end her misery. She’s convinced that not even God could save her now.
Roxy Taylor is the new girl in town, and Lexi doesn’t trust her, especially when she teams up with DJ Tucker to try and break down the barriers that Lexi has put in place.
Little does Lexi know, there are greater forces battling for her life, and as Lexi begins to open up to both Roxy and DJ, she’ll see that she isn’t alone in this world.
In the heart-pounding sequel to Entertaining Angels, everyone’s favorite angel, Zach Taylor, is back, and he’s there to make sure that Madison and Chase Sanders are on the path that God has chosen for them, a path that could deliver Lexi from the demons who want her soul.


My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
Emerald Barnes has done it again! How she isn't THE number one best author everywhere, I have no idea. We need to make that happen. Lol
Anywho, this book was so so so so amazing... Well, amazing doesn't cover this book and right now I honestly can't think of a word to cover it other than astounding in all the best ways.
This book made me cry so much but also gave me such hope. I remember being this girl when I was a teenager. Yeah, our lives were different, but our cutting battles were the same.
I loved that she kept Mads and Chase in the loop and kept us updated on them, but I'm also in love with these new characters.

I liked Roxy, but sadly, I didn't LOVE her. I mean, I know it's new being "human" but... it's kinda like ... I'm not even sure how to explain her... hard? Hard, I suppose. like she knew she needed to do this, but she didn't really know and it just made her so mad. I don't know. maybe I'm just use to Zach, he took being human much better than Lexi. Lol

Once again in the battle to save ones soul, I was in awe over this story. How a story can be so different, even though you know the outcome, it still just melts your heart and keeps you on your toes, gasping in awe and fear when something happens.
I'm so thankful for these books because even though I had this problem as a teen, doesn't mean my demons have gone away. They are still here and they still talk, but this book shows me that no matter what, God is still here and He still loves me and He wants me to keep fighting and I'm not fighting alone.

I really would recommend this series to everyone.

Ghostgirl (Ghostgirl #1) by Tonya Hurley

Synopsis

Now I lay me down to sleep,
I pray the Lord my soul to keep.
And if I should die before I awake,
I pray the popular attend my wake.


Charlotte Usher feels practically invisible at school, and then one day she really is invisible. Even worse: she's dead. And all because she choked on a gummy bear. But being dead doesn't stop Charlotte from wanting to be popular; it just makes her more creative about achieving her goal.
If you thought high school was a matter of life or death, wait till you see just how true that is. In this satirical, yet heartfelt novel, Hurley explores the invisibility we all feel at some times and the lengths we'll go to be seen.


My Thoughts
★★ Disappointing Stars
*cricket noises*
What the what?!
My heart is shattering right now. Seriously. Don't be taken in by this lovely, amazing, and wonderful cover! It's all a ruse! Ugh I could cry, this book was such a let down! I mean wow.... I wanted to love this book, I really did... and I tried so hard to love it, but I just couldn't!
All Charlotte wanted was to be miss popular, get the guy, and have the world revolve around her. Long story short, she wanted to be Petula. But yet Petula is such this horrible character that everyone hates, how is she no different than Charlotte? She wants everything Petula has, even though it doesn't come flat out saying that, it's pretty much common sense there.

Speaking of Petula... Doesn't she remind you of someone..... here's a hint:

Along with her two minions and boy wonder! Is there really anything else to say here? I think not.

.....I think most of these characters were based around Mean Girls, I kid you not. It's just to much of a "coincidence"

I liked Scarlet though, she seemed pretty cool, but yet I didn't like her. So I guess you HAVE to be goth to like all black and rock stuff, huh? You can't just like that stuff and not have a label. Yeah, okay, whatever. And I guess because she is a "goth" she has to instantly accept ghosts without so much as a freak out?....Riiiiiiight. Okay. Yeah, no. Then there is the whole "You can use my body." .......Who does that?!

I just don't get this book. Other than Scarlet, no one really "stood up" against the bullies. They all just rolled over and took it. This book was flat. There was no building at all, not even in the characters in my opinion because you don't suddenly go from "me. me. me. I want. I want. I want." to looking in a mirror and suddenly go to "She should have this. This is hers."

I'm actually shocked ghostgirl was so long, considering it gave us such little to no information about the settings. Maybe something here and there about what it looked like, but most of the time, it was really nothing..... and I honestly wonder if I am the only one wondering about where the parents are through this whole book. :/
So disappointing. :(